Please Don’t Stop the Music

Colby, with your little jaunt coming up next weekend (OOO-RAH!), thought you might be updating your playlist in all of the spare time you have in your taper mode. Perhaps it is time to take a stroll through our running playlists and share some gems?
Here are some of my favorite little nuggets (I’m leaving out the obvious recent songs – I think we both have Flo Rida’s “Good Feeling,” right?):
1. Under Pressure by David Bowie, Stuck in the Middle with You by Stealer’s Wheel, Crazy by Gnarls Barkley, Mas Que Nada by Sergio Mendes/Black Eyed Peas – these are good for the middle of long runs – not too fast, but have a solid beat.
2. Seven Nation Army by White Stripes, Are You Gonna Be My Girl by Jet, Peace Frog by the Doors, Welcome to the Jungle by Guns n’ Roses, Smells Like Teen Spirit by Nirvana, Unbelievable – EMF, – these will kick your a*s up pretty much any hill.
3. I Want You to Want Me by Cheap Trick – you can picture yourself playing air guitar AND watching Fast Times at Ridgemont High – a little laughter to relieve possible boredom. American Girl by Tom Petty – you can think of Clarice & Hannibal – put a little spring in your step.
4. Let’s Go Crazy – Prince, Bust a Move -Young MC, Push It – Salt n Pepa, Walk This Way – Run DMC, Good Vibrations – Marky Mark -’cause the 80’s were fun.
5. Rock & Roll Band – Boston – ’cause it has been on my playlist since 1987.
6. And last, but by no means least – “Beautiful Day” by U2 – possibly the best running song. Ever.
Whatcha got for me, Colby-san?

2 thoughts on “Please Don’t Stop the Music

  1. I DON’T have Flo Rida. (Did I just write that?) We have many an overlapping tune! U2’s “Beautiful Day” hands down, is My Favorite Running Song. Exhausted, sweating, 98 degrees, full sun, 100% humidity, and an uncooperative hammie— You play that song and everything fades away. Before you know it, you’re Kenyan. It’s amazing. On that note, here’s what rounds out Colby’s Top Ten Great Running Tunes of All Time (or at least Just Right Now)….

    10. Breakeven. The Script. Great hook. Good beat. Lyrics get me. Alternative title is “Falling to Pieces”. Can you see at what point in my life this was relevant? And yet when this song comes up, I run as hard as I possibly can. Even today. It makes me feel stronger. Falling to pieces my ass. Gotta catch me first. (Ptooey.)

    9. Ray of Light. Madonna. Quicker than a Ray of Light, she’s flying. Need I say more? One of my all-time faves. And come on. It’s Madonna. I can list 50 kick ass Madonna tunes to run to….I heart her.

    8. Little Talks. Of Monsters and Men. Great song to run intervals too. Just. Great.

    7. Lust for Life. Iggy Pop. I dare you to not run faster with this tune. Excellent beat. I loving hearing this towards the end of a long run. It never fails to pick me up. Ever. If I was ever going to direct a movie, this song would be in my opening scene as the camera pans a black and white cityscape, cut to me walking in great jeans and kick ass boots…

    6. Such Great Heights. The Postal Service. Opening beats immediately perk me up. Great song to set a pace to. But BEWARE! You might start out WAY to fast and completely crash. If that happens, just replay it. You’ll pep right back up. Love this song. Love it. Love it.

    5. Viva la Vida. Coldplay. I’ll be listening to this at mile 18. Awesome music. Peppy but soft. Symphony like. Great steady, strong beat. I dig it.

    4. Firestarter. Prodigy. Oh you’re running hills? Not without this angry kick ass tune. You wind up eating those hills, m*therfucking the whole way. The you’ll get to the top, spit, stomp, and cruise down the backside screaming at the top of your lungs. (Ok maybe that’s just what I do every time….)

    3. Tie. Best of You. Foo Fighters & Ali in the Jungle. The Hours. My two “Gu” songs. These are songs you need to hear when you feel down. Way down. Body tired. Legs heavy. Mind Wandering. These two make me focus. They are an instant pick-me-up before crashing and burning.

    Were you born to resist, or be abused?
    I swear I’ll never give in, I refuse

    Is someone getting the best
    The best, the best, the best of you?
    Is someone getting the best
    The best, the best, the best of you?
    Has someone taken your faith?
    It’s real, the pain you feel
    You trust, you must confess

    Is someone getting the best
    The best, the best, the best of you?

    Just insert “Long Run” for “Someone” and you’ll be up and on your way in no time! And Ali in the Jungle. Here’s a lyric sampler:

    And it’s, not, about the things you’ve done, it’s what you’re doing, now,
    What are you doing, now?

    Everybody gets knocked down,
    Everybody gets knocked down,
    How quick are you gonna’ get up?
    How quick are you gonna’ get up, now?

    See what I mean? These songs are like Gu. Life saving when your body is trying to rule your mind. The mind controls the body. Period. Don’t listen to those bitchy quads. Keep going.

    2. You! Me! Dancing! Los Campesinos. Never fails. Never disappoints. Press play with 0.5 mile to go. You will finish strong. No. Question. You will be running with wild abandon! Smiling! Running! Finishing!

    1. Beautiful Day. U2. Because finishing any race, ride, run, is Beautiful!

  2. Totally agree about Viva la Vida-listened to it twice on today’s run and there is something symphonic about it – I feel the same way about Coldplay’s Clocks and Little Talks.
    Love your list!

Leave a Reply

