A Turkey (Trot) for Me and a Turkey (Trot) for You…

Dressed and Ready for the Big Race!

My son M ran his first 5K with me on Thanksgiving.  It was a great experience for both of us, and M has agreed to be “guest blogger” for the day and deliver his take on his inaugural race….

Hello to anyone who’s reading this. I just ran my first 5K- the Wellesley turkey trot. It started right around a Starbucks right in Wellesley Center, went over a few bridges overlooking a highway, through the campus of Wellesley College and then finished back where we started. We went through part of the route of Boston Marathon called the “Scream Tunnel” at the edge of Wellesley College, which was pretty cool. I think I would like to run the Boston Marathon someday. Not today, tomorrow or anytime soon, though.

I have to admit getting a taste of a real road race was hard. I committed that I wouldn’t walk any of it, and I fulfilled that commitment, though at the end I couldn’t feel my legs. The race was pretty much my level until the last mile when it got hard. My uncle, cousins and sister were at the finish line waiting for us and cheering us. Lucky enough I beat the time on my last training run by a bit more than 8 minutes. Plus in the end I beat my mom! When I finally finished it felt really good. My favorite part was the end because I got a huge adrenaline rush and passed a ton of people. For my first 5k it really couldn’t get much better.

Next year I really want to run the Sham Rock-n-Roll with my mom and Auntie Colby.

2 thoughts on “A Turkey (Trot) for Me and a Turkey (Trot) for You…

  1. I’m reading this M!! I am so proud of you!! I can not WAIT for you to join Mommy and I at the Sham Rock In Roll!!! You’re an ANIMAL! Xoxo

Leave a Reply

