Goooooooal(s)!

Wishing Everyone All Good Things in 2013!

Wishing Everyone All Good Things in 2013!

So, I’m not into New Year’s Resolutions. Way too impatient to wait until December 31 to change something if I think it needs fixing. If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it, but for Pete’s sake, if it is broke, why wait?!?  For me, making a resolution to effect a change come January 1 is akin to people planning to start a diet on Monday…if you have to put off a change to an artificial date, isn’t it kind of doomed from the start? I guess that the dawn of a new year is a powerful motivator for some people and implementing changes on Jan 1 works for them. Just not for me.

That said, I think that Jan 1 is a great time to set some goals for the year ahead (or, “goooooals,” as we soccer fans like to say). I have a bunch, and thought I’d list the sports related ones here.

By the time the ball drops on December 31, 2013, I hope to have:

1. Run a marathon. Good Lord, it is time. Even my non-running, most-likely-to-be-adversely-impacted by me having a marathon training schedule husband thinks so. With his total support, I’m going to run a marathon in 2013.

2. Ride the Pan Mass Challenge. February 7, 2014 will mark the 25th anniversary of my beloved husband’s final treatment for cancer. He’s doing great and I can’t think of a more special way to lead in to his 25th anniversary celebration than by raising funds for cancer research while riding with some of my dearest friends.

3. Do yoga regularly. Would like to practice it at least once a week.  if I can actually clear my mind once, so much the better.

4. Find another pick-up soccer league, since my old one seems to have dissolved.

5. Become more fit overall and take care of my body. Do enough core work that I will be able to tell whether I actually have abdominal muscles. Do more weight training – get my back and arms up to par with my lower half. Get more massages, use my foam roller more and continue to stretch daily.

6. Find a 5K that is conducive (i.e does not have a completely crowded, bottlenecked first half-mile that all of the “fun” races seem to have) to me breaking a 7:30 pace. Then actually doing it.

7. More race goals: try at least three 5K’s or half marathons that I have not run before. Finish the &*^%)$!%# Fairfield Half with my head held high (and hopefully without the minor heatstroke).

8. Volunteer at a race to pay it forward for all of those who have handed out water and rung cowbells for me in past races.

9. Try Pilates.  Or cross-country skiing. Or both.  Something new, in any event.

10. Make headway with Colby on our idea for a 5K race for the disabled. Would be great if we could actually pull it together in 2013; if not, would like to have something in the works for 2014.

I love this list. It’s challenging, but doable and really makes me look forward to seeing what I can accomplish in 2013.

Cheers to all and may you all meet your goals and keep your resolutions, whatever they may be!

8 thoughts on “Goooooooal(s)!

  1. okay Tina I’m making my own goal list. At the top of the list is training for our CBHM. Starting from square one in the running dept. isn’t going to be easy for me. Count me in on the disability run or I can just supply my kid and his wheelchair! Happy New Year! Ps I can help you out with the X country ski weekend….. Notice I turned it into a weekend!

  2. Andie, so psyched that you are doing VT Covered Bridges. I think you will be pleasantly surprised when you start training – you have run a 1/2 before and your muscles have more memory than you think.
    Josh is the inspiration for this race and we expect him to be there!!! Colby and I need to sit down and talk big picture and details – your input will be instrumental.
    From what I have heard, I am afraid that if I spend a weekend Chez M in VT, I WILL NEVER COME BACK!!!! Do you need a full time Housekeeper up there?
    Happy New Year and all the best to you in 2013- Hope to see you soon – xoT

    • Thanks, Dominick. #5 might be the most important. Despite the significant amount of exercise I do, I’m kinda lazy about it. I do what I like (cardio, sports) and don’t do enough of what I don’t like (strength training, flexibility exercises). Hopefully we both will do more overall conditioning in 2013!

  3. Pingback: Mr. Kotter’s Brooklyn, It Ain’t | It's A Marathon AND A Sprint

  4. Pingback: 2013 Goals – the Recap | It's A Marathon AND A Sprint

  5. Pingback: Better Late Than Never | It's A Marathon AND A Sprint

Leave a Reply

