Transitions

20130104-003219.jpg

I ran 5 miles yesterday. It was 16 degrees.

I ran 5 miles today. It was 76 degrees.

It’s official. My lungs have picked up their bronchioles, wheezed “What the f*%# Colby?!” and quit.

I’m not complaining. Really I’m not. I miss Bundlin’ Up. I really do. And its only been a day. After reading Tina’s Ode to Yak Trax earlier today, I’m dying to bust out mine and take them for a spin. But just not here in Sunnyville.

I struggled today. 5 miles at 76 degrees? Total struggle bus. And 76 degrees isn’t even that hot. It’s the delta. Its the 60 degree change without increasing my fluid intake (unless rum counts as hydration. Coconut water it is not, but mixed with it? Hmmmmm.)

I’ve been slacking when it comes to drinking water because of how cold its been at home. “Ahhhh. It’s cold out. I’m “hardly” sweating.” That mindset translates to me drinking a thimble of water a day. That doesn’t fly down here in South Flahhhhrida. I was a salty, dehydrated, sluggish mess. I blame myself.

Moral to the story: Drink Up People.

No matter what the temperature. Don’t be fooled into thinking your need for water and electrolytes disappears with a cold front. Especially when your training remains the same. Keep hydrating. Tomorrow is supposed to be 83. I bought some Gatorade which, by the way, does not go well with rum.

Cheers!

20130104-003303.jpg

8 thoughts on “Transitions

    • It’s 83 now. Just ran 6. And drank water. Much better. Who knew? (Duh Colby.) Fear not Drunken Cyclist, I will be freezing in several days time. This healthy dose of sunshine was simply to prevent scurvy. πŸ™‚

    • Hands down. The Worst Run of My Life was a 22 miler before the Chicago Marathon. Up early to beat the heat- only it was 90 degrees with 85% humidity. That’s dangerous stuff. AWFUL. I finished it though. And did a crazy hysterical “I’ve stopped sweating but ran 22 miles in Hell” dance in my driveway. I hung out in an ice bath after that. For a while. At that moment I would have killed for 76 degrees. Yestetday though, it kicked me in the gut. Oooof.

  1. Oh, man, mixing Gatorade and rum makes me think of some very unpleasant mornings in college. The 30 degree temp jump here was very pleasant – 60 degrees would be another story! Best of luck with the hydration!

    • Totally. Horrible flashbacks. In fact, it took me several YEARS to drink Gatorade (the red kind) post college. (I shudder at the thought.) Today’s run went MUCH better. Funny what a little water and electrolytes will do! 30s are quite pleasant. And 90 sucks. Period. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

