The Big Chill

A few weeks ago, I waxed poetic about my love of running in the cold.  I’d like to amend my earlier statement.  I love running in the cold; I do not, however, love running in an arctic chill.

We have seen single digit temperatures the past few days here in Southwestern Connecticut, with daytime highs reaching only into the teens and low 20’s.  I don’t pay much attention to the forecaster discussions of “wind chill” – I’m convinced that, along with the “heat index,” it is a calculation that was invented just to make people feel worse about the already-uncomfortable weather they happen to be experiencing at the time – so I don’t know what the exact “wind chill” factor has been.  That said, in addition to being freezing cold, it has been incredibly windy, as well (I have been able to tell this through the old-fashioned way of stepping outside and feeling the cold wind beat up on my face).  Downright bitter.

Between sick children and work obligations, my only opportunities to run this week have been right after the school bus picks the little cherubs up at 8 AM – i.e., before the sun has a chance to warm things up to 15 or so.  I ran Tuesday morning and happened to time it while the wind was down, so it actually was pretty comfortable.  Yesterday, running wasn’t an option for a variety of reasons, but I hoped – and planned –  to get an outside run in today.  Cocky from my bearable run on Tuesday morning, I dressed in my running clothes before leaving to drive my oldest to a before-school practice, with the plan to run once I got back and got the other kids on the bus.  There’s no such thing as bad weather, just bad clothing, right?

HA!  When I walked out to my driveway to get in my car, my water bottle fell to the ground and some water spillled onto the driveway.  In the time it took for my son to finish packing up for school and join me at the car (easily 2 minutes or less), the spilled water was frozen solid.  Now that is cold.  I didn’t even want to think about what would happen to my water bottle (or my face, or my lungs, fingers or toes) during a run in those temperatures.

Needless to say, I spent some time this morning indoors with Coach Troy Jacobson and a Spinervals video.  I’m looking forward to rediscovering my love for cold-weather running on Saturday, when it is supposed to hit 25.

2 thoughts on “The Big Chill

Leave a Reply

