Nemo…By the Numbers

Doo Doo Doo, Lookin' out my back door...

Doo Doo Doo, Lookin’ out my back door…

And out my front door...

And out my front door…

So, “Nemo” (when did they start naming blizzards, by the way?) hit on Friday, and hit he did! Huge storm, no joke. Roads closed, massive snowdrifts, high winds, but we are safe and sound and have power here, so no complaints. Yesterday was one of the most fun family days we have had in a while. There’s something to be said with having nowhere to go and no way to go anywhere even if you did.

Here is a numerical breakdown of the storm, at least from the vantage point of my house:

Total inches of snow accumulation: 24.5 inches (as per town officials)

Number of cross-country skiers seen gliding down my road: 1 (I was very jealous)

Time at which my kids finally came in from sledding in our yard on Friday night: 8:45 PM.

Number of movies watched: 6

Number of sledding runs carved into my front yard: 5

Number of minutes spent spinning on my bike: 60

Number of snowballs thrown: googolplex?

Number of children crying as a result of being hit with a snowball: 0 (a first!!)

Cups of cocoa consumed: 10+

Number of people who tried on my wedding dress after I dug it out of the attic yesterday: 2

Number of children getting stuck in a snowdrift: 2. But they’re intrepid little snow explorers: they got themselves out.

Number of mothers getting stuck in a snowdrift: 1. I also got myself out. Did learn that it is very difficult to climb up a hill through a snowdrift that is up to my waist. Live and learn.

Time at which the town finally got to my road with a plow: 9 PM. Last night. And they needed to lead with a bulldozer.

Number of snow shovels lost in the snow: 2

Number of fights broken out among siblings: Far fewer than expected! (phew)

Number of runners seen on the road: 0. See above – no plows. Even yaktrax couldn’t have done the job.

Time at which my husband and I kicked off Happy Hour on Friday: I plead the Fifth.

Hope everyone affected by the storm is safe and all who are not are enjoying the crazy footage on TV.
Life is good!

3 thoughts on “Nemo…By the Numbers

  1. Pingback: Everybody’s Shovelin’… | It's A Marathon AND A Sprint

Leave a Reply

