Listen to Yoda

Take care of problems while, small, are they, or only grow bigger, they will.  Yeesssssss.

Take care of problems while, small, are they, or only grow bigger, they will. Yeesssssss.

Went for a long run this morning. It was great – could have been heavenly, but for one thing. One of my socks didn’t feel right pretty much from the get-go (turns out a seam was bunched up by my little toe). The wise, Yoda-like, thing to do would have been to stop, take my sneaker off, adjust properly and put my sneaker back on. But the impatient, careless thing to do would be to ignore it, keep running and hope it resolved itself. I think we all know I chose the latter.

After a few miles, I didn’t feel the discomfort anymore and felt oh-so-proud of myself for mentally making a problem go away by ignoring it instead of fixing it. Take that, David Blaine! Turns out that my feeling of relief was only due to the fact that a blister was in the process of forming in the area, temporarily dulling the pain. By mile 12, the blister was big and sore and I finally stopped, took my sock off, readjusted as best I could, given the meteor that was forming on my toe, and continued on my way, uncomfortable, but somewhat wiser. Needless to say, the last 4 miles didn’t tickle and I will probably need to wear Uggs to Easter Mass on Sunday.

If I had just stopped and corrected the problem when it first started, it would have been a minor inconvenience at best. Instead, I ignored it and am here, with a very sore foot, to share my sad tale. Methinks that there is a life lesson in this that goes beyond running. I am certain that Yoda would think so, too. And that is what I will be pondering on this downright balmy, 50-degree Wednesday afternoon.

Oh, and pondering the fact that I just signed up for the 2013 Marine Corps Marathon. I’m in! OO-Rah!

5 thoughts on “Listen to Yoda

  1. Congrats on getting in for the marathon! And also, this is SO me…I am totally that person who chooses to ignore the problem and then, when it (inevitably) gets worse, curse myself for not just stopping during the run, etc. Love the Yoda reference (big Star Wars geek here, haha).

    Also, wanted to let you know I nominated you for The Versatile Blogger Award…here’s my post with more info, in case you want to participate! 😀 http://thefinalforty.wordpress.com/2013/04/08/exciting-blog-news/

    • REALLY?!? Thank you so much!!! COOL! Now that’s some exciting stuff!! Check us out. All versatile and shit…. :-). Many thanks Jen!

      And I seriously had my paws crossed for Tina. Marine Corps was a great experience- and that was WITH a hurricane!

  2. Pingback: Yoda’s Back. With Cycling Advice. | It's A Marathon AND A Sprint

Leave a Reply

