Grounded.

20140121-105116.jpg

Fever. Aches. Chills. Cough. I feel like I ran a marathon and then celebrated by drawing and quartering myself. I’ve been run over by the flu truck. Maybe those two long runs this past weekend were a tad foolish?

Nah.
Never.

A run is never foolish. Especially Saturday’s run which was for #megsmiles. The run for Meg Menzies was a smart run. That run was beautifully contemplative. And an honor to have run. I can’t seem to get her out of my mind. Sunday’s long run? Ahhhhh. That one. That’s the one that might have been dumb.

I didn’t feel 100% and I knew it. Instead I had the “Oh YES I am running in the great outdoors in the day light because I’ve been tethered to a treadmill all goddamn week” so SHALLOW BREATHING BE DAMNED. I was quickly reminded what a tool I was when my doctor essentially rolled up a newspaper and swatted me on the nose like an errant puppy during yesterday’s visit.

Doc: So. You have a 101 fever. And the lower right lobe of you lung is filled with glop. You have the flu. And bronchitis. I don’t want that to turn into pneumonia. When did you start feeling poorly?

Me: Ummmmmmm hang on lemme think {cough, cough, cough}….

Doc: {Interrupts and yells over the cacophony} Let me ask you this. When was the last time you ran Missy?!!!

Me: {Glazed eyes flicker, momentarily perks up} Oh! I ran 8 yesterday. Chilly, but not a bad run. Not bad at all. I forgot my Garmin. I headed out on a path I haven’t run in a……

Doc: {Eyes roll so hard I hear them. Hands up in protest.} STOP.

Bad Colby.
I am an awful patient.

So now? I’m grounded. Home. Laying on the couch waiting for Polar Vortex Number 2, something called Bombogenesis (which for all I know is a new release from the Gypsy Kings), 10 inches of snow and the End of All Things Out of Doors Forever And Ever Amen. I suppose it’s a good time to be flu-ed in. My sneaks look sad sitting there. Their laces flopped over, pooling like tears around their mud caked soles.

Even they look sick.

20140121-105139.jpg

21 thoughts on “Grounded.

  1. I’m so sorry you’re sick – I’m in the same boat! My second long run on Saturday felt… Difficult, but of course I kept on going! Now I can barely move! Hope you start feeling better soon!

    • I feel your pain Laura. It’s tough to LISTEN to your body when you’re so used to carrying on and running despite discomfort. Foolish, really. Plenty of fluids Lady!

      -Your Foolish Blogger, Colby

  2. Rest up, Poodle. My general rule is that I won’t run if I have a fever; otherwise I go for it. It’s a pretty bad rule, since there are lots of times when you shouldn’t run even if you don’t (yet) have a fever. You may recall coming to my house one time for a girls’ sleepover when I had a bad bout of bronchitis. Since my doctor didn’t tell me not to run or have 5 buddies over to split a zillion bottles of wine, I did both. Didn’t work out so well for me, but we sure did have fun. πŸ˜‰
    I’m a terrible patient, too. Feel better soon so we can go play in the snow.

    • My deal is I usually run. Period. However, with a diagnosis I tend to be more obedient. Besides. I couldn’t run to the mailbox right now without dropping a lung. So. Dexter marathon it is. {sigh.}

      • You couldn’t run today without your snowshoes anyway. You’re not missing anything. I’m heading down to my basement to run on a treadmill. Blech. you picked a perfect time to be grounded. Had you not been sick, you probably would still not have been able to run AND you would be stuck in a blizzard trying to get home from work. Enjoy Dexter. Rest now so you can enjoy better running weather later.

  3. Ugh- feel better! Even though I get annoyed when people tell me this, it is a good time to be sick! When it’s stormy and cold out, I feel like lying around in PJs anyway!
    Stay out of your sneakers for a while πŸ™‚

    • This flu is a BEAST. Knocked me on my proverbial ass. Forced rest is a good thing every once in a while. It was a matter of time before the Health Wheels fell off my bus! I had a good healthy run. πŸ™‚ Thanks for the reminder! I need it!!!!

Leave a Reply

