What a Difference a Day (or Two) Makes

A view from one of the snowshoe trails at Mt. Snow

A view from one of the snowshoe trails at Mt. Snow

There’s an old saying that goes, “If you don’t like the weather in New England, just wait a minute.”

Two days ago, I snowshoed up Mt. Snow in Vermont under a gently, but steadily, falling snow.

Snowshoeing under a steady snow...

Snowshoeing under a steady snow…

Yesterday, I took the same snowshoe route up the mountain under clouds and mild air, only to snowshoe back down and find myself in slush and a freezing rain.

A mere 24 hours later and snow has stopped...layers are being ditched by the minute...and although I don't know it yet, it will be raining by the time I get back to the base of the mountain.

A mere 24 hours later and snow has stopped…layers are being ditched by the minute…and although I don’t know it yet, it will be raining by the time I get back to the base of the mountain.

Today, back in my corner of Connecticut, I went for a run under sunny skies with temps in the mid-50’s. Shorts. T-shirt. Sunglasses. Sunscreen. Sure, I still ran alongside massive snowbanks (those suckers aren’t melting any time soon), but…but…Shorts! T-Shirt! Sunglasses! SUNSCREEN!

New England, you are one crazy, temperamental bitch.

No wonder I love you so much.

7 thoughts on “What a Difference a Day (or Two) Makes

    • I’m from Boston, too! And I do love the weather changes – never gets boring.
      Happy to see from your pic that despite your move, you seem to have maintained your citizenship in Red Sox nation!

    • A 60 degree swing in a matter of weeks? That is tough to take.
      I make a point never to complain about the cold and snow in winter so I can reserve the right to complain about the heat & humidity in July & August. I really hate to complain about anything, but H&H just suck the life out of me…

Leave a Reply

