The Saturday I Took Back My Long Run

20140511-221735.jpg

Who runs 20 plus miles with Dermabond and a black eye and DOESN’T wind up in the Emergency Room?

{Thumbs pointing at chest.}

THIS GIRL.

I took back my long run.

Every goddamn mile of it. I woke up and put on the same running gear I wore during last week’s Long Run Where I Wrecked My Face. I kept it all exact. I ate up. Drank up. And headed out. On the same route. Just me. And that godamn route.

I even ditched my music. (I know, Blogger Friend, Vous รชtes surpris. Moi aussi.)

It was Me against The Long Run.

And I was ready for the fight.

It was a rainy, wet, humid morning. Slippery. Although I am sure that was in my head. Suck it up, Buttercup. And off I went.

Truth?

I was nervous. That unfortunate event wrecked my body. And not just my face. My back, neck, jaw, wrists, shoulder, forearms, hands. The whole gig. Wrenched. I’m not even going to mention what if did for my confidence. (Uh. Yeah. Gutter.) I ran every other day during the week. To test the waters. Each time I ran 6. I finished and said. OUCH. I’m not ready. Maybe I can’t do this? So I listened to my body (and Tina, My VOR, Voice Of Reason, god bless her heart) and rested the next day. Then 6. Ouch. Rest. Repeat. Better. Then Saturday rolled around. My Day of Long Run Reckoning. And it was GAME ON.

I didn’t feel as good as I did last week, truth be told. All I focused on was my breath. In. Out. Deep. Even. This was a very different run than last week. Last week I was happy! to! be! ALIVE!!!! And this week? Business. All business. I wasn’t happy. I was freaking determined. Eye of the Tiger, Baby. Eye of that godamn TIGER. The whole damn way.

I had a very decent run. At mile 16 when I got to The Dreaded Dip in the pavement? I had an awful flashback. So I slowed my pace, looked into that pit of despair, torn skin and broken dreams.

And promptly gave it the finger.

Yesssssssss!

20 miles. Done. Excised the demons. Got back on my feet. And kicked that Long Run’s Raggedy Ass. Let the taper begin! For the first time in my running life, I am ready to taper.

So freaking ready.

39 thoughts on “The Saturday I Took Back My Long Run

  1. Yahoo!!! Well done. And smart of you to leave the tunes out of this run – you needed the focus. When I had my epic Wreck My Knee, Shin, Arm and Shoulder But Not Face fall last September, I know it was due in part to the fact that I had too much going on in my head and my hands (sports beans, water, headphones…). You did it!! xo

    • T-Bone. My VOR. I did. Which is why in a last minute decision, I ripped the yurbuds from my ears and said “Screw It” and tossed them. Additionally, my phone was low on juice and OUR POWER WENT OUT. (Thankfully after Tim made the coffee or I would have been That Girl in her PJs at Starbucks ordering a triple venti skim latte.) So I decided to conserve and use the phone in case I needed to make a hysterical call. What is up with us and falling? Let’s hope we’ve gotten that out of our system. I can’t wait to hop on the bike. HELLLLO HENRIETTA PUSSYCAT!

      • I think that what is up with us falling is that our minds are usually a mile ahead of our feet. Which makes us prone to accidents. I think both of us try to solve the world’s problems in our heads while we run, which doesn’t help with noticing dips in the road or loose pavement.

  2. After reading about your determination I’m sure that I would NOT want to meet you in a dark alley that’s for sure. Congrats on getting back on the horse. You are one tough woman.

  3. HIGH FIVE, TAPER BUDDY! I’m so glad you got back out there and kicked that long run in the ass! My favorite part of all of this is that you did the exact same route too and canceled out all the badness from it. So proud of you!

    • I seriously contemplated running holding a clump of burning sage to ward off all of the bad running juju but figured the People of My Town would have me committed. HIGH FIVE IS RIGHT, TAPER BUDDY. Now repeat after me: Trust the training. Trust the training…..:-)

  4. There was never a doubt in my mind! As for the ceremony at mile 16…you can take the girl outta St`aven…..

  5. Nice job, lady! Sometimes what we need is to put on our game face to just-get-it-done! I am right there with you on the taper. So excited to take a load off and relax a bit. Twelve miles this weekend is going to be deliciously chill. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I’m running 12 as well. And that seems short. Which always makes me giggle. ๐Ÿ™‚ Early morning race (hopefully) = Cooler temps. What marathon are you running? I’m getting verrrrry excited for mine~ Burlington Vermont here I come! Bring on the beer! (Oh. And the Ben and Jerry’s!)

      • I am excited for mine too… A little less enthusiastic after yesterday’s sluggishness, but still hopeful that it will be a good race. I’m running the Newport Marathon in Oregon. Typically cool temperatures, likelihood of cloudiness and possibly mist/rain. Should be perfect running weather! Although, I do wish my race came with Ben and Jerry’s!

      • Ah that is perfect running weather! Burlington could be a crap shoot. Seeing as how I totally was NOT a camel in my previous life (intense heat is my kryptonite), I have my paws crossed for cooler temps. I also had a VERY sluggish run last night. 83 with humidity will do that to ya! Best of luck Alaina!

        ๐Ÿ™‚
        Your Taper Buddy

      • Wow, Colby, you’re bringing the heat over there! 83 trumps 70, for sure, and you just blew that out of the water with the humidity! Wishing you all the best on your race! (My fingers are crossed for cooler weather, and lower humidity in Burlington!)

        ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Oh my gosh! I had to read your other post before I read this one! What a crazy, terrible thing to happen on your long run (especially since you were feeling AMAZING before it all went down), but I’m so glad to hear that you are doing better and you FINISHED your long run. I think a lot of people (myself included) would have just thrown in the towel.

    I’m so glad I found your blog! Your writing style is awesome! I can’t wait to read more! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Can you stinking believe that? Such. Shit. And I’ve gotta tell you, it really took the wind out of my sails. But alas! There’s no quitting in running! At least not with THIS thick head. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      And thank you! We’re happy you’ve found us! Scratch that. We found each other! Hoooray!!!!

Leave a Reply

