I Pulled The Trigger.

And said, “Marathon. Schmarathon. I want something meaner.”

So I did the unthinkable.

And promptly registered for the VT50.
That would be a 50k.
An Ultra-Fucking-Marathon.

panic

Did I just black out? Mother?!?

It was simply a matter of time. I knew the day would come that I would finally commit, and try to run this sucker. I actually registered for it last year, but won The Lottery and didn’t get stoned to death and got into the 2013 New York Marathon. Holy Dilemma! I opted to run New York with Team Fox (Fantastic!) and in a very un-Colby move, decided to bag on the VT50. You can read all about running New York with 50,000 friends and stealing a spectator’s breakfast like a hypoglycemic maniac, here, if you’re so inclined.

Bailing on the VT50 haunted me.

try

I felt like I quit. Before I even gave it a chance. I took the route I was more comfortable with and bailed on the scary unknown. And that’s not me. So here I am fresh off of the Key Bank Vermont City Marathon, in the throes of PMWS (Post-Marathon Withdrawal Syndrome), forming a Fall Plan. Why I can’t seem to just sit my ass down for 5 minutes is beyond me. But alas, I’m just not static. I’ve never been. I’m also not sure why at age 42 I have decided to run My First Ultra Marathon either. I should have done it in my 20s. However, I was too busy shot gunning beers and eating Cap’n Crunch- like it was my job– to care about distance running. In fact, I would have the Cap’n Crunch DELIVERED because I was tooΒ LAZY to walk ACROSS THE STREET and buy it. Dairy Mart Delivered. Pathetic. True story, Folks. True story.

But look at me now!

All registered for an Ultra! My how things have changed! And oh, how I have grown! What drives you in your 20s (Beer and Cap’n Crunch) is not the same thing that drives you in your 30s (A Happily Ever After that goes Sadly No More) which is not the same thing that drives you in your 40s (Ultra Marathon? Why, yes please!). I am finding that my 40s are all about becoming a better version of myself. Selfish? Quite possibly. But in becoming the best you, you also happily by accident become a better friend, partner, daughter, sister, aunt, listener, runner, lover…The list goes on. Simply stated: I want to evolve. I want to grow as a person. I want to live a life that is full. Extraordinary even.

So why not take a risk and do something that challenges you?
That forces you to dig deeper than you ever thought possible.
That scares you silly.
That makes you so uncomfortable you’ll wish Dairy Mart still goddamn delivered. To your door. At 11:30pm.

Sign. Me. Up. πŸ™‚

What’s the most frightening thing you’ve ever done? Have you ever run an Ultra Marathon?Β WOULD you ever run an Ultra Marathon? List your Top 3 Sugar Cereals- GO!

20140610-011756-4676274.jpg

84 thoughts on “I Pulled The Trigger.

  1. The thought of a marathon doesn’t thrill me, but I’ve toyed with the idea of an ultra–maybe it’s the trail bit that I find more do-able. And real food at the aid stations? Top 3 sugar cereals: Tony the Tiger, Lucky Charms, Cap’n Crunch!

    • You know, that’s kinda what pushed me to it—Running in the Woods. I need to get off of the road for a bit. And I really love trail running. Now. That being said I don’t know if I’ll love 30 MILES OF IT, but I guess I’ll be finding out! Nice choices on the Sugar Cereals! I myself am quite fond of Froot Loops. πŸ™‚

  2. You are starting to scare me. Remind me never to piss you off. The Cap’n always scratches the inside of my mouth and gets stuck in my teeth. I guess I would go for Apple Cinnamon Cheerios, Honey Nut Chex, and Fruit Loops (I also like Honeycomb, but you have to woof those down–once they go soggy it’s a disaster!).

    • I’m starting to scare me quite honestly. Cap’n Crunch DESTROYS your soft palate. And Honeycombs are a goddamn race. But I do believe they are worth it. And while Froot Loops contain nary a stitch of fruit AND are all the same flavor, they are my fave. Imagine? Same flavor. We’ve been fed a bowl of fortified lies all our lives.

  3. Rock star!!!!! πŸ™‚

    My girls and I so od’d on Cap’n Crunch the weekend of my 30th birthday celebration (there were 8 of us crashing in my one bedroom apt in Hollywood) that none of us have ever been able to look at it the same way again.

    Top 3? Well I am one of those annoying no sugar people, but back when I did eat it- Froot Loops, Sugar Smacks, and Cap’n Crunch.

  4. Yay for your ultra aspirations.
    I am laughing so hard at your captain crunch delivery lifestyle… I was pretty much the same in college, but we had no cereal at our doorstep options so it was mostly pizza and Chinese for the first half of my twenties. And shot gunning beers.

    • Oh Pizza too. And Chinese. I was a LOT BIGGER in my college days. But seriously. Dairy Mart Delivered. Cap’n Crunch and Skim Milk. That was my go to order. I may not have run a sub-4 hour marathon in those days, but I could shot gun a beer in the blink of an eye. I’m happy my Binge Drinking days are behind me….well…..at least the Cap’n Crunch is. πŸ™‚

      • Haha. Love this.
        I seriously was large and in charge too back in the day. And while I may dabble in some Fruity Pebbles every once in awhile, my idea of binge drinking anymore is being able to stay awake past 2 beers πŸ™‚ maybe shot gunning would help that process along.

  5. I’ve thought about the 24-hour Ultra in Wakefield, MA but that just seems crazy. My crazy stuff? running a marathon this weekend, next weekend a 1-mile sprint on Saturday and then a 10K and 5K on Sunday morning. This is mostly bad planning and not going after a new challenge.

    • OH ANDY. How’s the taper going? Screw the 24-hour Ultra. You’re a little nutty and ambitious with the Kick My Own Ass in 7 Days or More Schedule you’ve got going on over there! Good luck Crazy Pants!!! I can’t wait to read your recaps!!! πŸ™‚

  6. You’re a bad ass! So excited for this Ultra adventure that you’re about to go on. I’m thinking after I’ve run 10 26.2s, then I’ll feel okay to attempt the impossible. Honey Nut Cheerios, Cap’n Crunch, Frosted Flakes.

    • I’m super excited! And a little nauseous! I’m looking forward to the woods. I freaking love running trails. Just love it. I’ve got 7 26.2s under my belt. I blew off the last 3. πŸ™‚ Honey Nut Cheerios are ALWAYS delish!!!

  7. I was just saying today how I’d like to run a 50K someday. The thing that sort of scares me isn’t the miles but the fact that they’re almost always trail runs. Oh yeah, and my 3 favorite sugar cereals are Crunch Berries, Frosted Flakes, and Lucky Charms (the BOMB!)

    • My ankle is a little nervous for it. I beat the snot out of her, Poor Thing. But otherwise, I’m pretty stoked. And LUCKY CHARMS ARE THE BOMB! My mother would NEVER buy them. I only got them if I snuck ’em into the shopping cart!

  8. I love that you referenced both Fantastic Mr. Fox and The Lottery in here. The Lottery has haunted me since the day I read it, back in middle school!

    I’m not sure if I ever want to run an ultra…sounds so intense! Maybe once I get out of the beer & cap’n crunch phase of life πŸ˜‰

    • I LOVE the Fantastic Mr. Fox. Especially because I have a beagle- Never look a beagle in the eye……:-) And seriously. The Lottery has haunted me too! What a short story! STAY IN THE BEER AND CAP’N CRUNCH STAGE!!! That’s the most fun! And lookit you! You’re already ahead of the game with SOLID running under your belt. I wouldn’t walk across the street in college. However, I did mountain bike a lot. That counts. πŸ™‚

  9. GO YOU!!
    I so want to do a 50k–just once, just to see. See what, I don’t know? LOL!

    Looking forward to reading about your training journey!

    And….. Lucky Charms, Frosted Flakes, and Fruit Loops πŸ™‚

    • Do it Helly! (But rest first. I’m watchin’ you… πŸ˜‰ )
      I have a feeling that my training journey will be quite colorful. Solid cereals!!!! I might have to swap my power smooties for some dang Froot Loops STAT!

    • There is nothing like your First Marathon. And I stress “First” because there will probably be a Second!! Looking forward to reading about your training!! And yes, it did scare me. I think my stomach ache has finally subsided!

  10. I was a Frosted Flakes kind of girl. I also liked PB Cap’n crunch (yes, I have scars on the roof of my mouth) and just about any sugar cereal. Rice Krispies were healthy cereal in my house. Lily’s only rule was no Chocolate cereal, because she thought it was odd. I preferred to funnel beer in college and lived above a pizza place for a while. And yet was 10 pounds lighter than I am now. If you see my old metabolism, please let her know I would like her back.
    So glad you pulled the trigger. You can totally do it and you will love it. Go Colby!

  11. I really love Raisin Brand Crunch. I know, I am a weirdo.

    Way to pull that trigger! I am hoping to do one of those maybe next year. This year is all about my second marathon and getting a time I am happy with!

      • I love, LOVE Chicago! Fantastic, fantastic marathon! It holds a spot near in dear to my heart because I PR’d there! Yahoo! Nice and flat! And very well supported. Good luck Jane!!!!! San Fran must have been a beast.

  12. EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE THIS IS SO EXCITING THIS IS SO EXCITING!!!! You are insane and I LOVE IT! I cannot wait to hear all about your ultra experience. I’ve never run one, but I think maybe one day I’d like to try a 50K. Like a few years from now. The craziest thing I’ve ever done was pack up all my stuff and move to the other side of the country and I guess the marathon was pretty crazy too. πŸ™‚

    My favorite cereal ever is the Special K vanilla almond. I’m not allowed to buy it because I will eat the whole box in one sitting. Also these organic cocoa krispie things that we say we are buying for Betty. But then we eat all of it ourselves. Sorry, kiddo.

    • It’s exciting alright. I finished a 6 mile run last night and thought, Huh. Only 25 more. GAH!!! Ive been meaning to ask you—which calf compression sleeves do you run in? Do they really make a difference?? Been toying with trying them and thought I’d ask my pal Salt. πŸ™‚

  13. I know after I run a marathon the thought of an ultra will get into my mind… sounds crazy right now, but hey, running a half marathon seemed crazy just a few months ago…
    Congrats on taking the plunge!

    • LOVE IT! Christ. I can remember when I had the biggest mental block about running 5 miles. Anything over a 5K was INSANE to me. Boy how things change. Congrats on your Half!!!! And soon to be Full!!!! πŸ™‚

  14. Ahhhh an ultra!? You’re so hard core! I look forward to reading about your journey as you train for this. I just ran my first full last fall and am signed up to run it again, so a marathon is definitely a big accomplishment/looming giant for me. I remember back when I was positive I’d never be able to even run a half- yep, back in those days of beer pong and Life cereal. πŸ™‚ you’re inspiring me!!

    • Ohhhh Beer Pong and Life!!! There’s a metaphor there. I just know it. Congrats on your soon to be Second!! It’s a huge accomplishment! And thank you for saying that I’m inspiring you. That’s just flat out wonderful. And means the world to me. Good luck! And stay tuned!! πŸ™‚

  15. Sweeeeet. Good luck on your ultra! Ya know, I find that the older age group I get into, the harder the competition is. I think most people are the same about improving their lives as they get older. I like your list of things to get better at. I’m with you! “friend, partner, daughter, sister, aunt, listener, runner…” Sadly though, I don’t think I could ever become a better lover. Just a natural, I guess. I have never had much of a sweet tooth, but I remember times visitng Cali and they had stores that delivered booze to your door. Oh yes, sign me up! Trouble! BTW, I’m not running an ultra until I can run a full that I’m happy with. So far, I have yet to be satisfied with my performances at that distance (that’s what she said). Wait, what?

  16. Captain Crunch is actually a Commodore I think. How about corn dogs, moon pies and a Bud for breakfast? When I was a kid we actually put sugar ON our Frosted Flakes. Probably put my dentists’ kids through college with our family’s dental bills.
    Roy Rogers supposedly once said, ” I’m going to have Trigger stuffed after he passes on.”
    Dale said, ” Now don’t you get any ideas.”

  17. Nice! Congratulations on your marathon AND for signing up for your next race!

    The most frightening thing I have ever done was stand up for myself in a relationship. And end it. And thank the heavens I did. πŸ™‚

    I am afraid of how I am going to feel after the Siskiyou Outback 50K in July… But really that’s only 5 miles more than a marathon, so I’m not too worried (although… maybe I should be). Quitting my job and practicing Reiki on real clients, and letting myself be an artist (with the intent of selling my wares) is much more terrifying… So… Maybe I need to work on that.

    Favorite Sugar Cereals (pre-gluten-free days): Cinnamon Toast Crunch, Frosted Flakes, and Frosted Mini-Wheats. πŸ™‚ In college I regularly ate Cinnamon Toast Crunch with a pint of chocolate milk for dinner… I certainly have changed my ways since those days! πŸ™‚

    • Alaina you are BRAVE. Like hardcore brave. And I’m happy we’ve “met”. πŸ™‚
      And you are Cinnamon Toast Crunch with Chocolate Milk which makes you even Cooler. That stuff was good.

      How’s your training coming along for the 50K? How are you recovering post marathon?

      • πŸ™‚ You are very kind. I am likewise happy we’ve “met”. You are incredible!

        Training for the 50k is coming along, now. I had a couple weeks of crazy life stuff after the marathon, and managed to keep running right on schedule until last week (skipped the Sunday run, and then the 12 mile Wednesday), but totally kicked my 26 mile “long run” training run today! Feels so good! I can’t wait to see what 10 feels like tomorrow…

      • My 50k is on July 26th… I am really enjoying how easy it has become to run long distances….

        But I tell ya, I am looking forward to enjoying running without a training schedule for a little while, after that race!

      • I found a training plan on the lovely Internets on http://www.trailrunevents.com. It’s a pretty intense plan, it seems now that I look around at others… And I’ve been slacking on the long mid-week run. πŸ™‚ But, feeling good, and after today’s hilly trail run… I’m giving myself an extra hour to finish the 50K from what I thought I might be able to do. What kind of plan are you using?

      • Ahhh the lovely internets. I found one at: http://running.competitor.com. It’s essentially a “So you’re nuts enough to run your fist 50K! Here’s how!” I just really needed some structure. It’s going well so far. I’m exhausted if that says anything. πŸ™‚ The plan I found actually has 2 rest or easy ride/swim days which seeing as how I am riding in the Pan Massachusetts Challenge, a 2-day 200 mile cycling event for cancer research, I need to hop on the bike. Like a more than I have been. I have zero concept of how long it will take. My goal is simply to finish. With dignity I might add. Then I’ll feel as if I have won. πŸ™‚

      • Finishing with dignity is a grand goal. I am also hoping to keep all of my epidermis in tact. (aka – try not to impale myself on a rock). My time goal is finishing before the close the course. πŸ™‚ And that will be enough.

  18. Just realized that I forgot to answer all of your questions! Stopped at cereal and got hungry. I would definitely try an ultra (but you knew that, didn’t-cha?). I do want a few more marathons under my belt first, though. Scariest thing I ever did probably was moving to NYC after college with no job – moved with a good friend (Suzanne a/k/a Jay-Z) and found a cute apartment, but no job, or even interviews, and not much experience with NYC when I moved. As is often the case with scary things, it was the best thing I ever did. Many of the things I love about my life can be traced back to that one decision.
    PS -You’re a kick-ass friend already, so I can’t wait to see what you’re like next year!!

    • I JUST REMEMBERED WE’RE GOING TO COLBY & TINA’S BIG APPLE BONANZA WEEKEND!!! I can’t wait to see the apartment you and Jay-Z shared! And lookit your life since, my fabulous, successful friend. πŸ™‚

  19. I’m on wait list for for a 50-miler in October – a run around Canandagua Lake in NY πŸ™‚ Oh yeah, first Ultra – and at 48! I AM nuts!

    As for cereal … I remember discovering my first week of undergrad school that they had Cap’n Crunch with Crunch Berries, which had just come back into popularity (early 80s), in those bulk dispensers … so you could get a huge bowl. Eat it … then get more! No wonder I weighed 375lbs by the end of my four years! haha

    • YOU ARE NUTS! Crazy how there’s a wait list for a 50-miler. I think the last wait list I was on was for a Cabbage Patch Kid in the mid 80s. If I had had Cap’n Crunch in a bulk dispenser I would have simply imploded. And need palate reconstruction surgery. Look at you now!! Bravo!!! You’re so inspiring! πŸ™‚

  20. Yay! Amazing! You will be fantastic. I’m so excited to read your whole journey πŸ™‚ I’ve been putting off the ultra I know is inevitable but you might just convince me when I’m reading your recaps…

    • Ohhhh I hope I do!!!! Then we’ll be UltraBuddies!!! I’m excited. And I have to say, that since I pulled the trigger, my runs have been FANTASTIC. It’s like I’m running with a renewed purpose. Yippeee! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

