Very Inspiring Blogger Award!

veryinspiringbloggerThe other day I learned that The Force Majeure over at  A Voluptuous Mind nominated our blog for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award. Thank you!!! Thank you!!! She is one cool, bright, witty chick who hula hoops and has a lovely way with words. She’s also a runner. But she just doesn’t know it yet. 🙂  I can’t tell you how happy I was to hear the news. For reals. Inspiring is such a powerful, evocative word. That it is associated with Our Little Blog makes me proud. Damn proud. So. Without further ado, here are the rules of the award:

  • Thank and link to the person who nominated you (Check!)
  • List the rules and display the award (Check-a-roni!)
  • Share seven facts about yourself (Seven Facts About Tina and Seven Facts About Colby.)
  • Nominate 15 other amazing blogs and comment on their posts to let them know they have been nominated
  • Optional: display the award logo on your blog and follow the blogger who nominated you

You like Us! You really, really like Us!

amyandtinadancing

7 Things About Tina!
  1. I love music. I have zero talent, but if I did, I would be the annoying person who brought their guitar everywhere and asked to sing with the band at weddings. As it is, I have to settle for hosting friends and serving them enough alcohol that they will play Rock Band or one of my singing board games with me.
  2. I love crossword puzzles. And logic problems. I may be the only person who ever enjoyed taking the LSAT because so much of it is similar to puzzle solving. But I hate cryptograms.
  3. I have an anaphylactic soy allergy. I hate being allergic to soy because I now can’t use my favorite flank steak marinade, but I love that I have an excuse to turn down all offers of tofu -no questions asked. I know it’s healthy. I still wouldn’t want to eat it.
  4. I moved to NYC without a job during the recession of the early 90’s and it remains the best decision I ever made. It set the stage for my career, meeting my husband…basically all of the things I now love in my life.
  5. I am sure that I would be a happier, more balanced person if I practiced meditation and yoga, but I’m coming to terms with the fact that I just don’t like them that much. And I think I definitely will be a happier, more balanced person when I stop beating myself up for not liking meditation and yoga. Working on that.
  6. I hate to swim and almost never go in the water. I don’t even like to lounge in a pool chaise. I cannot STAND the feeling of a wet bathing suit and just typing this out is giving me the willies.
  7. I can say the alphabet backwards. Really fast – almost as fast as I can say it forwards. I wish that my special talent was in the music arena (see 1 above), but alas, no dice. I have never found a use for this amazing talent. Maybe if I’m ever pulled over for a suspected DUI I can bust it out to prove I’m sober.
7 Things About Colby!
  1. I am well versed in just about every damn breed of dog that exists according to the American Kennel Club since the age of 5. I used to climb up the book shelf and pull out “D-4”, The Dog Book as I would refer to it, of the Encyclopedia Britannica and obsess about every single breed.  Mom:  Hey look Colby! There’s a Beagle! How cute! Look! Snoopy!  Young Colby: Uh. No Mother. That’s not a beagle. That’s a Harrier. For the love of god, get it straight. Please. How I am not at Madison Square Garden judging Best in Show is beyond me. I fear I have missed my calling.
  2. I had an imaginary friend growing up. His name was George. He and I would play for hours in the front yard, waxing poetic about what we wanted to be when we grew up, and what places we would visit. Good times. Good times. Sadly. George died suddenly one day. I’m not sure how. I just remember he was dead. End of story.  Rest Peacefully old chum.
  3.  I am a vegetarian. Little known fact, right?!?!?  Who knew!!  I was also a vegetarian in college. But it was the “I don’t eat meat so instead I’ll eat pounds of pasta and Cap’n Crunch instead. And,what the fuck is a vegetable?” kind. Now I’m happy to report I am far more balanced where protein and carbohydrates are concerned. I’m a distance runner. I have to be. Or I’d be a sad, shallow little puddle.
  4. My grandmothers were affectionately known as Big Gram and Little Gram. I think you can guess why. I take after Little Gram who was just about 3 apples tall. Big Gram had the most beautiful, soulful eyes ever. They are the same eyes as my Mother.  Little Gram had a big smile and a big mouth and more teeth than the average human being. They are the same as mine. I could probably bite the ass off of a horse. But I’m a vegetarian. And besides, that’s beyond gross. And wildly inappropriate.
  5. I love tomatoes. Love them. The smell of tomato plants and basil reminds me of my Grandfather. He had a massive garden and I would spend many weekends with him on his tractor. I used to sit in the fields and eat warm tomatoes off of the vine, wiping them off on my shirt and letting the juice drip down my chin. Close my eyes and I can still smell, taste and feel the sun. I wish I had paid more attention to everything he said about growing crops, and planting tomatoes. I miss him terribly.
  6. I found distance running at the worst time in my life. And in turn found myself. It was my control in a time of chaos. It was my therapy. Each mile brought me out of the fog. The strength I gained propelled me forward. Each finish line a new beginning. In many ways, it brought me back to life. For this reason, running will always be a part of me.
  7. I was an actress. I was in an improvisational interactive comedy show called Joey and Maria’s Comedy Italian Wedding out of Boston. We toured all over. I was Maria.  I figure I’ve been married 100s and 100s of times.  It was a complete blast.  I worked with some funny, funny, talented people. When I auditioned for it I didn’t tell anyone. I just went, without head shots, without a clue as to what to do. I walked in and they asked me how my day was. So I told them. Colorfully.  🙂
And now for our Inspiring Blogger Nominations! And honestly, these are just a handful of our favorite blogs in no particular order. So here you go:
31 thoughts on “Very Inspiring Blogger Award!

  1. And I had an imaginary frenemy when I was little. No joke! Her name was Cynthia and she was a royal bitch. I’m sure a therapist would have a field day trying to figure out why a five year old would create an imaginary enemy. I think it is because my family was too nice. I didn’t have anyone to fight with.

  2. THANK YOU for the nomination! Your facts were hilarious to read. Backward alphabet artists and improv actresses! So talented in so many ways!

  3. Thanks for the nom–so cool! It’s always fun to read random facts about my fave bloggers 🙂 I was a theater major in college and have done all kinds of performances, but never toured. That must have been amazing!

  4. YOU GUYS!!! You’re the BEST! Thank you so much for making my day! You know I’m feeling a little lame over here with the no running thing and this really made me smile. 🙂
    I loved getting to know all these random facts about you both. I had no idea that Colby was a vegetarian (or had enough teeth to bite the ass off a horse AMAZING) and I’m sorry about the soy allergy, Tina. 😦 I understand the whole inconvenient allergy thing all to well.

    You guys rock. Thanks for writing one of the best blogs around!

  5. Awww, shucks guys!! Thank you!! You both are so deserving of this award!!
    Tina, I so have many useless talents. Especially all things wordy–word searches, crossword puzzles, Wheel of Fortune, you name it! And I totally don’t like the water and hate to swim. I also never saw the point/purpose of “laying out”. Lol–that probably explains my pale skin and runner’s only tan!
    Colby, if I was to be any type of actress that’s the type I’d want to be–improvisational comedy is hilarious!! (I also think I get a lot of practice teaching my high school students lol!)

    • You are so welcome Helly!!! Improv was a blast. And especially when you’re working with a group you click with. We would die laughing. Work it into your routine teaching. The kids will love it! 🙂

    • Oh, Helly, I wish I could take back my many years of “laying out!” I was not afraid to lie next to a pool for hours…and days… on end back in the 80’s and I now have the skin to prove it! I’m an annuity for my dermatologist. Reformed now and sit under an umbrella with 50 SPF on. I am a wordy-wordy person through and through. Just don’t throw numbers at me too quickly and we’re all good!

      • My husband is a number guy so we balance each other out perfectly 🙂
        And laying out was BIG in college. My roommates would do it ALL the time and say, “Hellllly, come out with us!!!” I just couldn’t do it lol!

  6. I am so pumped you did Joey and Maria’s Italian Wedding… I remember going to it a loooong time ago in Pittsburgh with my best friend and our moms and we had such a blast! That is such a fun fact!
    Thanks for the nomination, by the way. I am flattered!

  7. Yay! Thank you! I am going to throw so much truth in yo face it will be scary 😉
    Tina–I love you for loving crosswords and logic puzzles. They are my favorite, and I am so good at the grid ones (you know, where you x out based on clues and such to figure out who ended up with what) and I some times do crosswords to relax in bed.
    Colby–Home grown tomatoes in the summer. That is all

  8. You are, as they say, The Man! Thank you so much!!! I’m honestly honored! I really respect y’all’s blog. I gotta call BS on one thing though – ‘no particular order’. Oh sure. It’s random that Salt is first. Salt is always first – everywhere!
    I hope we’re able to meet up for a race one day. You’re welcome to come to Texas anytime!
    Did you ever watch Kids in the Hall? They did a song about Terriers once. You may like it.
    I’m sorry about George. So sad. On a happier note, our 5 year old has two imaginary friends – Go and Johnny Go. They are ninjas that live in the trees in front of our house. The other day he asked if we could go get them birthday presents. I had to wiggle out of that one.
    OMG OMG OMG, please tell me there is video out there of the Comedy Italian Wedding show!!!!!! Please!!!! I’ve always loved stand up and improv. I took a few classes. I still think about getting back into it…

    • Go and Johnny Go, tree loving Ninjas. That is AWESOME. I love hearing when kids have imaginary friends. Get them a few presents for Christ sake. Or a swing for the tree. They can all play.

      Kids in The Hall was some good shit right there. i may Netflix ’em now that you mention it.
      Salt Rocks. My Girl! I found your fabulous Blog through Her Excellency. I’m hoping one day there will be race we can all meet up at. Tacos and beer miles ALL WEEKEND!!!

      Thankfully, I did all my nonsense pre-YouTube. Otherwise I’d be an unemployed mime, working for race entries. Funny stuff.

      And—you’re very welcome. Your blog is fantastic. 🙂

      • We actually met an artist who drew renditions of G and JG. But of course Griffin got mad cause they both had swords in the drawing and clearly one of them has a bow and arrow in real life. Duh.

        Woot woot! I would LOOOOOOOOVE for us all to meet up for a race, tacos and beer (and wine for Salt). Bring.It.On.

        Dang. I’m going to search regardless, FYI

        Have a great one RCR.

  9. Tina – I so admire you for picking up & moving to NYC. I love toying with the idea of going somewhere brand new (because I’ll be honest, I kind of hate everything about Maryland except Baltimore. I might be the only person besides Salt who likes Baltimore…). I’m not quite ballsy enough to go without a job though, so it might be a while before I leave. Also – I hate swimming too! I love chilling on the beach, but the idea of jumping in a freezing ocean/lake/pool, swimming around to warm up, then jumping out and trying to warm back up is just torture.
    Colby – I had no idea you were vegetarian – that is so cool. 🙂 I’m not disciplined enough (or maybe I just like meat too much). I have gotten much better at eating veggies since college too though. I used to want to be an actress when I was little, but sadly it never worked out that way. That is awesome that you showed up without head shots & got the gig!
    Thank you thank you for the nomination! 😀

    • That Tina is one ballsy, smart chick. I love her to pieces. 🙂 Alas! I am meatless! And loving it. Tina and I both share a hatred of swimming. Although I love cannonballing. She would NEVER.

Leave a Reply

