A Decade of Riding in the Pan-Mass Challenge. A Lifetime of Lessons Learned.

20140810-084712-31632832.jpg
A week ago I rode My Cancer Fighting Bike, in my 10th consecutive Pan-Massachusetts Challenge. Ten years. In a row. I am proud of that. Very proud.

Not proud that I have ridden thousands of miles.

Not proud of the training endured each and every year.

Not proud of hooking up My Bike to the trainer and spinning in the living room because it was too dark to get a decent ride in after a long day at work.

It’s not about the athletic achievement. Strange, but true.

The PMC is not about Me.
And that’s the beauty of it.

In the 10 years I have ridden, I have learned more about the human spirit than I ever thought possible. I have learned that people are at their very best when they’re doing something selfless.

And that is beautiful.

I have learned how riding in the PMC means more to the 100s upon 100s of people lining the streets along the route, than it ever will to me. And that’s saying a lot. Strangers. Clapping and cheering. And thanking me. Thanking ME. Over and over. In the pouring rain. In the extreme heat. Over and over. Thank you. Every year for 10 years. Some of the faces are the same. Some are new. All are grateful.

I am here, because of you.

To hear that. To see the look on their face, as they tell you that. Thanking you. With their whole heart. Sincere. Genuine. Pure. It means everything. Everything all at once. And it continues to overwhelm me. Year after year.

Here’s the thing: I believe them. We are making a difference. A real, life-saving, cancer fighting difference. They are living proof.

20140810-085036-31836061.jpg
I have learned that the most generous of people are the ones you barely know. But who know you. And believe in what you are doing. They move me to the core.

I have learned that people who volunteer their time at the PMC have a tougher job than any cyclist riding. They are kind, patient individuals who smile with their heart. Angels. All of them.

I have learned that the smallest of gestures, gestures requiring the most minimal of time, are the most profound. A kind word. A ribbon remembering a loved one, honoring their fight. A quick note saying, “I will be thinking of you this weekend” means the world to people. Find the time. You are not that busy. It’s worth it.

I am proud to be a part of the Pan-Mass Community. So proud. It has become a part of who I am. It has woven itself into the very fabric of my being. I feel like for one weekend a year, I am a part of something great. Really great. Impactful. To be surrounded by people doing the same is inspiring beyond words. I am finding, as the years go by, that the PMC feeling stays with me longer and longer each year. It changes your perspective. Your focus becomes on what is truly important in life. And isn’t that wonderful?

The PMC isn’t about me. But by accident, I have become a better human being because of it.

Here’s to the next 10 years.

20140810-084636-31596019.jpg

10 thoughts on “A Decade of Riding in the Pan-Mass Challenge. A Lifetime of Lessons Learned.

  1. Beautiful, and as someone who both races for others and who has others that race for her, I know the feeling on both sides, and I know how much it means to both. So, as a donor of time/participant–thank you for your continued participation and setting an amazing example of how long term these commitments can be. As a recipient, thank you for you selfless contribution of your time and effort, but for raising awareness. Regardless of the cause, speaking to one increasing the likelihood of speaking to another.
    Here’s to 10 years, and more, of health for us and those we strive to improve the lives of.

  2. Hi Colby, you and I sat together at dinner under the tent in Sturbridge. So glad I found your blog. Great post that really captures the essence of the PMC. As they say along the route, “Thank you!”

  3. Pingback: Run. Read. Repeat. Who’s Up for a Challenge?! | It's A Marathon AND A Sprint

  4. Pingback: Because I’m Happy! The Friday Five! | It's A Marathon AND A Sprint

  5. Pingback: The Friday Five: Summer Should Get a Speeding Ticket. | It's A Marathon AND A Sprint

  6. Pingback: PMC Training and Gardening with Drunk Otis.  – It's A Marathon AND A Sprint

Leave a Reply

