The Sunday Six.

If I was graded on my blogging this week, I would have gotta big red “See Me” written at the top of the paper. Poor. The week flew by and now here I am, sitting on my couch, watching Nicki Minaj and Her Ass “sing” at the VMAs.

I can’t.

no

So instead, somewhere between Lorde talking to the wrong camera, Madame Tussaud’s wax Kim Kardashian, Miley’s PSA, Taylor Swift’s Red Carpet onesie and the incessant twerking, I came up with The Sunday Six. Or, Six Things that Occurred to Colby This Week. Or actually happened. Or crossed my mind. Whatevs.

Original, huh?

1. Trail Running has made me a Chicken Shit. Every crack. Every crunch. Every stick that looks like a snake. All scare the snot out of me. Creepy guys, strolling slowly along, alone in the woods FREAK ME OUT. I need a running buddy or a big vicious dog. Or minimally a handful of Xanax. The good thing is that it’s making me run faster. The bad thing is that I feel like some chick in a horror movie who runs up the stairs into the woods when she should get the f*ck out of there.

2. Hill repeats, as much as I dread them each damn week, are working. There. I said it. They are making me stronger. And tougher. And surprisingly, far more determined than I have ever been. Why this is the first time I have “officially” made them a part of my training is beyond me. Live and learn, Colby. Live and learn.

3. I FINALLY ran fast!!!!! cat jumpAnd by fast I mean negative-split-sub-8-minute-miles-for-8-miles-on tired legs-fast! I was thrilled. For me, the day after hill repeats? I might as well have won GOLD. I might also have blown kisses to my fans in the driveway too. Just being honest.

4. I ran 20 miles and realized that I need to start training my mind a little bit more than my legs at this point. Can my head do hill repeats? Fartleks? Anything? I need to start BELIEVING that I can run a 50k trail race. I am nervous. And I need to knock it off if I’m going to finish this bitch. My goal is to finish. With dignity. Anything more is all gravy.

5. I love watching My Other Half race cyclocross. Cyclocross is badass. Full tilt the whole time. Loosely, it’s like steeplechase on a bike. Sort of. Technical riding off road, hills, off camber, lots of switchbacks, hopping over barriers, running stairs then riding again. As fast as you can. This weekend officially kicked off our cyclocross season. I say “Our” loosely. He races. I cheer wildly, get nervous, freak out, ring cowbells and drink beer. I figure my job is tougher. Better him, than me. I’ve got my own crosses to bear. See what I just did there?

6. I have Super Talented Friends. My friend Craig is both insanely thoughtful and incredibly talented. He sent me this after the PMC:pmc portfoleyo designs IIHOW DOPE IS THAT?!??Β  Such a fantastic surprise. Oh, that’s me alright! That’s me riding the PMC wave complete with snorkel, life jacket, ribbons and smile. He saw my selfies and posts about this years’ wet ride and whipped up this awesome cartoon. He nailed it. I love his take on me and my obviously strong glutes.

All I know is Nicki Minaj better back it up.

Do you ever freak yourself out while trail running? Do you run alone, with a Run Buddy or a vicious attack dog? Do you want a fabulous cartoon of yourself? Drop me a line. I’ll put you in touch with Craig!

32 thoughts on “The Sunday Six.

  1. Yeah, that cartoon is hilarious. I love the snorkel. I am the worst trail runner because I have a fear of falling as well as tripping/twisting my ankle so I am less concerned with the wildlife and more just my ineptness.

    • Oh I’m a hot mess in the woods, which is the root cause of my VT50 fear. But I am getting a little more “graceful.” I couldn’t stop giggling at that cartoon. It made the pain of the VMAs subside. {Sigh.}

  2. The list (and cartoon) was epic! When biking Saturday, I rode by a dead snake and still made that sound when you see creepy things. I couldn’t lift my feet, well, because I was clipped in an learned my lesson a few weeks ago. Not sure I could run in the woods by myself…..

    • What is UP with snakes??? I think they’re all trying to kill themselves in my neck of the woods. I saw FIVE dead ones in a 1.5 mile radius on Saturday. Seriously. They creep me out. Ahhhh the dreaded- OH SHIT I’M CAN’T GET UNCLIPPED- crash. Happens to the best of us! πŸ˜‰

    • I’m a Lone Wolf kinda runner myself. And it usually doesn’t bother me until I spotted Creepy Guy slowly strolling. Then I turned into Captain Chicken Shit. Mind you, the trails I’m talking about are exactly 0.5 miles from my house and are usually fully of the Regulars and their Pups. I think I might need mace. Or a whistle. Or a Two Headed Dog. πŸ™‚

  3. Those mile times are fantastic–way to kick butt!

    I don’t really do trail running–I also feel like something out of a horror movie and I’m too much of a chicken to go alone.

    • Damn Creepy Guy. Ruined my whole damn run. And thank you! I was pleased with myself. I rarely post my times but I was proud of that one. I think I needed to read it in print to ACTUALLY believe it! Crazy. I know. πŸ™‚

  4. The trail I run isn’t littered with roots, but it is pretty secluded. There was one time when I passed a couple of dudes, looked like a father and son. Then I passed a group of dudes, they looked young (high schoolish maybe?) and I wasn’t sure why they’d be out at that hour (it was like 6:30 or 7 AM on a Saturday). I started running rape escape scenarios in my head. Turns out they were all part of a group of boy scouts. But still – I need to get a thing of mace to run with when I go out on the trail alone, just in case.

    • It’s funny because every time I see a group of dudes they all have dogs with them. And it’s probably the stupidest thing in the world, but a dude with a waggy lab holding a tennis ball in his mouth does not scream “Brutal Attack” to me. Dumb I know. Anyone can grab you, let’s be honest. Muggers should get labs. They’d lure everyone in, konk them on the head and drag ’em off to their white panel vans. I am getting mace this week. The skulky dude watching me run in the distance with no dog, freaked me out. Fool. 😦

    • It sure did. And seeing as how my trusty beagle, Pearl Anne and love bug, Leon James would rather beat an attacker with their tails and lick them to death, pepper spray will do. πŸ™‚

  5. Maybe you should add a chain saw to your hydration belt for snake protection. Missed ( on purpose) the VMA’s as I realize the music world is passing me by and I am passed ( or past ?) the point of caring.

  6. Waaaaahhhhh!!!!! We don’t have hills in south Florida!!!! Unless you count the dump and It’s SO not happening there! And Nicki “I have absolutely no talent but it don’t mattah ‘cuz I got a booty that a Greyhound bus could get lost in” Minaj needs to go back to whatever rock she crawled out from under. Did all that just fall out of my yap? Oops, sorry. Not really. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

