Boston Bound

BAASymbol

This post will be short and sweet.

Very sweet.

Got confirmation from the Boston Athletic Association on Sunday that I have a spot in the 2015 Boston Marathon!

I might come down off of Cloud 9 sometime, but I don’t think it will be anytime soon.

Boston is #1 on my Bucket List of marathons. And I’m running it.

You can read about my love for my hometown here.

You can read about my love for this marathon (and devastation at the 2013 tragedy) here and here.

You can read Colby’s recap of our epic experience watching the 2014 Boston Marathon at the crest of Heartbreak Hill here.

The Boston Marathon and I go waaaaay back.

I’ve been cheering this race from the sidelines since the mid-70’s.

I’ve been running up Heartbreak Hill on regular training runs since high school.

And now I’ll be running it wearing a Boston Marathon bib.

Sweet, indeed.

Anyone else planning on running Boston 2015? Which marathons are on your bucket list?

50 thoughts on “Boston Bound

  1. I’m going, I’m going!!!! I know it is def on my Bucket list… along with NYC… the athens marathon, chicago and a few more….but def for sure the boston marathon is the “holy grail” so I call it… see you in April!!!! Congrats!

    • Yay for you!! A training buddy – I’m psyched!!! NYC & Chicago are also on my bucket list (which is evolving as we speak – hadn’t even thought of Athens – duh)! You’re a NY girl, right? You need any tips for being in Boston – I’m your girl. Born and bred Masshole here!
      Congrats!

  2. That is AWESOME news!!! Woohoo!!! I’m sooooo super happy for you chica, you are going to do amazing. Enjoy and cherish the journey!!! My bucket list marathons are Boston, Berlin, London, and NYC 🙂 Once again congrats and fist bumps from Florida 🙂

    • I hope I do amazing – I think my whole freaking family is going to turn out for this one. I hope I don’t have performance anxiety – I’m used to running under cover of anonymity! We have some same races on the bucket lists – hopefully we’ll catch up at one of them!

      • Sounds like a plan! 🙂 and there’s definitely no more anonymity now missy!! You posted about this awesome accomplishment so now we are all gonna be watching lol 🙂

    • Wasn’t this year’s race the best?! We were so emotional. It was crazy. We were standing just past the crest of Heartbreak Hill – right around mile 21 – it was such an amazing experience. Could not high-five enough!!

      • It was amazing! I took the day off from work with my friend and the spirit and intensity of the race and the runners was captivating. I wish I had the strength to run it myself, but feeling the energy from the participants was enough 🙂

  3. I am so proud of you Tina I could scream. (I’m actually getting choked up writing this!!) YOU KNOW I’LL BE THERE!!! Tell your parents I’m staying ovah! I’ve waited our whole friendship to watch you run up Heartbreak Hill. Tina is running Boston. I fucking LOVE IT. LOVE IT MORE THAN ANYTHING. My fantastic friend. No one deserves it more than you. Muuuuahhh!

    Love you!
    Colby

    • THANK YOU!! I can’t wait until you yell at me to get my shit together at the crest of Heartbreak Hill. Your abusive speeches are so inspiring!
      Wouldn’t be doing this if were not for you, my dear friend. It all started with your facebook post in November, 2011 – “I’m running the Danbury Half – anyone in?”
      Before that, the longest race I had run was a 5K.
      And so it began…

  4. I will also say that in the History of It’s a Marathon AND a Sprint, THIS IS MY MOST FAVORITE GODDAMN POST. That’s my GIRL! 🙂

    You’re running Boston. And I’m running an Ultra. Who the fuck ah we? Beyoncé and Jay Z? {Dissolves into hysterical laughter.}

    • We ah bettah than Beyoncé and Jay-Z {cue more hysterical laughter}! Methinks we could beat them in a 5K, 20K, half-marathon, century, snowshoe race, mud run, marathon….and soon, Ultra! So we have no Grammys. Meh.
      How about the fact that WordPress automatically puts the accent on Beyoncé’s name? Snazzy!

  5. Yay, that’s awesome! Just completing a marathon is on my bucket list. I doubt I’ll ever be fast enough to qualify for Boston, but if I ever made it work, I’d love to run that one too! My grandparents live on Cape Cod (in Falmouth to be exact, home of the annual New Balance Falmouth Road Race :D) and are always asking me when I’m going to run the Boston Marathon. I’ll tell them I’m living vicariously through you!

    • The Mighty Falmouth Road Race! I have only run it once, but have headed down the Cape to cheer it on many a time!
      If you want to run a marathon some day, you will. And if you really want to run Boston, I hope you get to. Fingers crossed.

      • I used to go to the Falmouth Road Race every single year. I was a nerdy kid and would spend 10 weeks out of my summer for five years at my grandparents’ house, going to the Children’s School of Science in Woods Hole all day long. Every August, we’d go to Falmouth Heights to watch the runners cross the finish line. I really want to do that race some day! Plus who wouldn’t mind a free stay at a million dollar house?

  6. Oh my goodness!!! Can we finally meet in real life there!! This is incredible, CONGRATS!!!!
    Bucket list includes: NYC, Chicago, Marine Corp, Disney Dopey Challenge (the one that is all four), Big Sur, Rehoboth Beach (my hometown)

Leave a Reply

