Don’t Call It A Comeback

Call it a TRIUMPH!

Who listened to her body and iced, rested, elevated, stretched, rolled, massaged, applied moist heat, bitched, moaned, kicked, screamed and lost their goddamn mind during a 12 day running hiatus due to a bum Achilles after running her first Ultra Marathon, only to emerge like a Phoenix from the Ashes, and have 3 PERFECT PAIN FREE RUNS this week and it’s only freaking WEDNESDAY!?!

THIS HAPPY GIRL!

20141015-224454-81894709.jpg

Holy run-on sentence.

I’M SUPER-FLY STOKED!

Here’s the best part:
I didn’t blow up.
I didn’t die.
I didn’t turn into a amorphous blob.
I didn’t gain 20lbs.
I didn’t fall completely out of shape.
I didn’t lose muscle mass.
I didn’t eat all things.
I didn’t forget how to run.

I healed.

For the first time in my adult running history, I was injured and I knew it. Instead of running through it, I admitted there was a problem and listened to my body. Disappointed? Sure. I went from The Thrill of Victory to the Agony of Defeat in two shakes. Total bummer. But I would be far more disappointed if I was sidelined for months. I’m not that patient. But I’m learning to be.

The moral to the story is a very simple one: If you are hurt. Stop. For the love of Kara Goucher, Stop. SIT STILL. I know: Duh. Colby. That’s a tough one for me to swallow. It really is. As distance runners, we compartmentalize pain. Wall it off. Suck it up, Buttercup. Keep going. We stop when we’re done.

I was done alright. So I stopped. And that made all the difference.

To happy, healthy running!

39 thoughts on “Don’t Call It A Comeback

  1. Unfortunately I only tend to stop when my body forces me to. Like now…6 week recovery (ankle) due to ligament damage and bone bruising. Only happened last Wednesday when I was running on some sweet new (for me) single track near Silvan Reservoir (Melbourne, Australia). It is my 3rd (& worst) sprain of that ankle inside 12 months…but that didn’t stop me trying to run on it for another 30 mins after injuring. I figured I had to get back to my car anyway, so might as well try to run it out.

    • Oh Poodle. I completely understand ankle issues. They are a BEAST. And sadly, take a super long time to resolve. I have a pin in mine from decades of TAPE ME, I’M RUNNING. as a result I have no eversion and inversion in my right foot. Bummer. Total bummer. I had to let that heal for AGES. But it did. And now 7 marathons and an Ultra later, I might just take her out for beers! 😊. Be patient. And heal swiftly.

  2. And that my chica Colby is what makes us like fine wine … we just are becoming wiser smarter runners with age. Although we might throw the occasional tamper tantrum ha! I’m glad you listened to your body and are back at it and showing that $$ million dollar $$ smile lol 🙂 and seriously … that’s a crazy fast recovery for just finishing an ultra. I think the vultures would have been circling my body by now ha!

    • I love the analogy. FINE WINE BABY!!! That’s us!!! Not so fine that the lettuce comes running, but just fine enough. 🙂

      I bet you’d surprise yourself- You pretty damn fit Mr.Florida. I bet you’d be back in a jiff. 🙂

  3. I am so with you right now on how monumental it is just to be able to run pain-free. A quarter mile or an ultra-marathon, I’ll never take a pain-free step for granted again!

  4. Pain free is the place to be! Welcome back, we match on the longest running hiatus for healing, 12 days is mine as well and next time you are thinking…man, I wish life would just slow down, give yourself an injury, instant molasses.

    • Total La Brea Tar Pit. I had so much time I didn’t know what to do with myself. I wasn’t rushing. My house was clean. I didn’t even know who I was there…. To 12 days! And being pain free! cheers!!!

  5. You’re my hero, Colby!! “Suck it up, Buttercup!” is totally my favorite mantra. And I def don’t know how to be injured and NOT eat all the things!! I guess you could say I’m just your average, ordinary endurance runner… nobody’s hero, that’s for damn sure! But my foam roller is my bestest frienemy and I’m still running — that’s all that matters LOL 😉 …T minus 3 days til Cbus or BUST!!!

  6. Good for you, lady. Nice job. Tarsal tunnel in my house, out for several months. But hey, I didn’t run for most of 39 years and still managed to get after it, a few months won’t kill me. 😉 Now to eat only some of the things.

    • Thanks, Lady! Lemme tell ya— my ears are peeled. Besides, I expect to be running with my BFF Tina well into our 80s. I will be rocking a gray pony tail and she’s fairly certain she’ll have a bob. 🙂 Long Haul!!!! Hooray!!!

  7. Yay, I’m really glad to hear that you did something smart and it paid off and now you can come back stronger than before and will soon be crushing it even harder and living the dream and rocking and rolling and crushing it, wait, I already said crushing it so ignore that second crushing and only pay attention to the first crushing and hopefully that will make this a more focused and awesome blog post comment.

  8. Pingback: Mocking | On the lam(b)

Leave a Reply

