A Blank Canvas

20141231-162525-59125648.jpgA blank canvas. And a glass of wine. I can think of nothing more fitting on this New Year’s Eve.

I should really be in the shower, fluffing up for The Big Night, but I felt like I had some unfinished thoughts. So here I am, sitting by the glow of my Christmas Tree, jotting it down.

Tina summed up our year beautifully in this post here. So many miles run and ridden. I lost count. Thousands between us. We came so far this year. And I’m not just talking about the athletic accomplishments- A Boston Qualifier and an Ultra Marathon. Two incredible accomplishments. Proud stuff. Super proud. I choke up a little thinking about it. But that’s not just who we are. And it’s certainly not what I’m most proud of.

It’s not about how fast we ran this year. Or even how far. It was about what those accomplishments revealed about our selves. The training. The work. The stress. The pain. The disappointment. The sadness. The drive. The determination. The elation. The laughter. The thrill of the done. The process is what makes us. Sharing it- sharing life- with a best friend is what makes us better. And isn’t that the point?

We are runners.
We are strong women.
We are the dearest of friends.

May 2015 be Your Masterpiece.

XO,
Colby

39 thoughts on “A Blank Canvas

  1. Colby, wow, you’ve inspired my 2015 very much!! Thank you for these beautiful thoughts and for bringing a few tears to my eyes. What a beautiful sentiment- a blank canvas…I love it!! You’re a beautiful, passionate woman and I wish you a healthy and happy 2015!! XOXO

  2. I can wait to see what you paint next both literally and figuratively. Thank you both for being incredible energies and crazy ass awesome people. A very happy New year Colby! (and Tina duh)

    Ps right now I’m watching the Liz Taylor Cleopatra and drinking Bailey’s. To each his own for NYE!

    • Same to you Ms. Suze, my inspiring, sassy, smart, powerhouse of a friend! Ain’t nothin’ wrong with a little Cleopatra with Elizabeth T. As long as it’s not the god awful remake with Lilo. What was ANYONE thinking?

      To 2015!!! Cheers, Friend!!

    • Get uncomfortable Judith. And if you get shy, call me. I’ll talk you through it. There is nothing more exhilarating than dipping that paintbrush, making that first stroke and creating something new. It doesn’t have to be perfect, it just has to be YOUR masterpiece. To a happy, healthy 2015!!! Cheers!!!

    • Thank you for such a wonderful comment. Such kind words! Much health and happiness to you this New Year. I love our little corner of the Blog-o-sphere. I speak for both of us in saying that your words mean the world to Tina and I. Xoxo

  3. Love this 110% Colby!!! And I’m sure that whatever you and Tina paint on that blank canvas will be Picaso-like quality … truly a MASTERPIECE!!! Just make sure there are no face plants this year haha lol ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

