Hold on Tight

Have I mentioned that the little man who lives inside of my mp3 player and manages the playlist is a genius?

He is.

Yesterday, on my last run of 2014, on the last stretch before finishing my run, my playlist turned to “Hold on Tight” by ELO.

The song before it was “Bust a Move” by Young MC, which, while peppy, didn’t carry as much of a message. He knew to save the important one for last…

Hold on tight to your dream

Hold on tight to your dream,

When you see the shadows falling

When you feel that cold wind calling

Hold on tight to your dream.

What a song to close out 2014 and be waiting for me when I turn on my mp3 for my first run of 2015.

Grasshoppers: we all have dreams. Some we shout out to the world and some we keep secret, but all are sacred. Dreams are what fuel us, what inspire us, what keep us going when the chips are down.

I think that there are two types of dreams. The first is the attainable dream. This dream is as much a goal as a dream. You know that with effort, dedication and maybe a pinch of luck, you will achieve this dream. It’s there for the taking, and you just have to do what you have to do and it is yours. These are the dreams that build our confidence, our feelings of accomplishment, and always keep us striving.

The other type of dream is truly a dream. You don’t know if you will ever live it out, but it’s there – deep inside your heart and your mind. You may hold it deep inside, you may keep it secret, but hopefully, you never let go of it. Even if these dreams never actually come true, the hope, the energy and the optimism that they add to your life makes them just as important as the ones that do come true.

Around this time of year, there is a lot of talk about resolutions and goals. All well and good, but don’t forget to spend a little time nurturing your dreams, as well. Your soul will thank you.

So, the wild ride of 2015 has officially begun. Hold on tight, and make it a great one.

XO, Tina

21 thoughts on “Hold on Tight

  1. ABSOLUTELY … POSTIVELY … WELL WRITTEN Tina!!!! I love this!!! It’s 100% truth and I love how you separated the two types of dreams that we all have. I have many of those secrets ones that keep me waking up each day 🙂

  2. Pingback: Hold Tight to your dream – one week to go | Unsporty Women Can Run

Leave a Reply

