Snowbird

Photobombed at the Golden GlobesHey Everybody! I’m over here!

I have finally thawed out enough to operate a goddamn keyboard. Sweet Jesus. My blood thinned. After 8 days in Super Sunny South Florida, I have finally returned to the cold hard reality that is New England Winter. I got off the plane and Jack Frost sucked the tan straight from my pores. Such. Shit. Holy temperature change. It took my breathe away. And not in a “I just scored Newtons for 50% off!” kind of way. 82 degrees one day, 9 degrees the next. That’s one hell of a delta.

20150113-003254-1974251.jpg

My quick trip was a much needed respite from the past few months. The last few months of 2014 kicked me right in the spleen. Stress. Gah. Stress really does a number on you. Especially when it invades your sleep. That’s just wrong. As a result, come New Year’s Eve, I felt like a broken down, baby-puke-yellow 1972 Chevy El Camino. With bags under her eyes. So. Bad.

I was in dire need of some sunshine. So we headed to South Flaaahrida. And it was glorious. Readin’, runnin’ and relaxin’ with My Other Half. My 3 favorite things. Well, 4 if you count My Other Half. Actually, 5 if you put a cocktail in his hand. It was perfect any way you slice it. I had several Sunny Epiphanies in Florida. Epiphany might be too strong of a word. How about Shit That Occurred To Me While Running in Florida? That might be better. Honestly, I’m surprised I thought of anything. I seriously checked out. #gonefishing

1. I totally get why Old People head to South Florida. ‘Cuz it’s the FOUNTAIN OF YOUTH, PEOPLE! I can’t tell you how many FIT, fabulous older women were out walking, running and riding every damn day. They looked incredible. Happy, relaxed and fit. I’m talking well into their 80s. I’d fly south too, if I could stay active. I wasn’t sure if they’d always been active, or became active once they hit the Sunshine State, or just had a ton of work done? Who cared. They were moving. And smiling. I saw one Old Broad rocking a pair of “leather” running tights. No joke.

20150113-002636-1596313.jpg

2. Running in 80 degrees less than 24hrs after running in single digits is BRUTAL. (But I quickly got over it. πŸ™‚ ) I was dehydrated. Really dehydrated. My legs felt like stuffed sausages. I was overheated. I couldn’t get out of my own way. My El Camino Engine Sputtered. It was a wake up call. Note to self: Just because it’s cold out, doesn’t mean you stop drinking water, Fool. I’ve since upped my non-alcoholic beverage consumption. Even my skin thanks me.

20150113-002210-1330701.jpg

3. I need a new bed. Or, a new stress free life. I slept like a baby while on vacation which is how I have always slept until recently. Stress is something, isn’t it? It gets right under your eyelids. Insomnia is NOT something I have been enjoying. It sucks. We did spy this interesting Bed Store, but it was closed or we would have taken a Test Snooze. Next level sleep? Sign us up!

20150113-002017-1217002.jpg

4. I love to read. That’s not really a shock, it’s just that I haven’t read much for pleasure lately. I need to fix that STAT. Scientific journals aren’t exactly page turners, and that’s what I’ve been up to my ears in. If you haven’t read Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand, go right now and do so. Screw Angelina’s movie. The book will stick with you far longer. It was riveting. How can one human being endure that much mental and physical strain? To endure. Then recover. And really LIVE. Louis Zamperini was something. What an incredible story. I also read this hysterical piece of quality literature from The Oatmeal, The terrible and wonderful reasons why I run long distances. I laughed myself silly.

20150113-001126-686317.jpg

5. Sunshine. That’s all. Just sunshine. It brightens much more than the day. You never realize how much you need it until it is obscured by a Polar Vortex. 8 days of sunshine can cure just about anything. It’s the best drug there is. Here’s to a Bright New Year!

20150113-001016-616063.jpg

What is your idea of a perfect getaway? Have you ever gotten a case of the winter blahs? What’s your cure for the blahs: run, sun, a stiff cocktail or all 3?!?!

36 thoughts on “Snowbird

    • Where are you!?! I love heading down there. I’ve been going since I was 12 years old. And believe it or not, last year I was unable to—-BREAKING MY STREAK! I think that’s why I enjoyed it so much. That and I needed a damn time out. And sun. Plenty of sun. πŸ™‚

      • Ha ha. Well, they don’t call it the sunshine state for nothing. Sorry you had to break your streak last year! But good you were able to come again. What brought you down so often? Other than the sun (as if you need another reason)…
        Right now, I’m actually studying abroad, but my family lives in Fort Lauderdale and that’s where I’ve lived for the past 17 years.

      • I did break my streak. It was devastating. My parents have a place not far from Fort Lauderdale! And I am lucky enough to have a gorgeous getaway that I really need to use far more often. They are turning into Snowbirds for real, spending more and more time down there. Who could blame them? You’re in Germany! I wish I had studied abroad. Enjoy it. Soak it up. I spent a month or so working in Wuppertal, years ago. I’m a bit of a wanderer as well. It was a hell of an experience! Aren’t we all as runners? πŸ™‚

    • Ohhhhh! I am so jealous!!! I’ve been seeing all of the Disney Goofy-Dopey-Mickey Folks posting medals and race recaps. I’ve got Florida fever for sure! And I was far away from the Magic Kingdom. Enjoy!! Here’s to good weather!!! πŸ™‚

  1. When we escaped to Mexico last year during the Polar Vortex, it was just like this, in the sense of WTF do we live in Chicago. WTF. I remember being on the plane, about to get off, seeing the snow, and being like WWWWWWWWWWWWWWHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY
    I miss multiple seasons. I miss Georgia.

    • Girl. I should have flown you down. You’re getting SPANKED with the cold. Any escapes this Polar Vortex/Arctic Bullshit season? We walked out of the airport to single digits and a feel like factor of -WTF. We were instantly depressed. 😦

  2. Oh, sunshine. So lovely and important. I’m very jealous of your southern excursion. We were going to try to sneak in a honeymoon in the Bahamas this winter/spring, but then my calendar went wonky, so we’ll have to wait. *sigh*

  3. I fully expect to kick ass with you in Florida when we are senior citizens. I have no doubt that you will be rocking leather running tights. And I will not. But maybe I’ll go out on a limb in buy them in a color other than black.
    My favorite thing about beach vacations is reading. Oops, I mean spending time with loved ones. And then reading. My favorite thing in life is reading. Oops, I mean spending time with loved ones. And then reading. And running. They might be tied.
    Sunshine is key and I swear running outside helps during the winter even when the temps stink. Vitamin D: it’s a good thing. Sunshine in Florida in January is even better, but I’ll take what I can get.
    I love my new mattress and my old mattress, which is now on your namesake’s bed. You are welcome to come try them out the next time you come over. They are heavenly and sometimes I miss my bed when we are on vacation. Truth.
    Winter blahs: cap off an outdoor run with a cocktail and Jimmy Buffett on an endless loop? I don’t feel the winter blahs too badly usually, but I do look like crap during the winter months – think extra from “Flowers in the Attic.” All the bronzer in the world couldn’t save me.
    My favorite getaway would involve a few days in a city and a few days by the beach. Fun city on the beach? Heaven.

    • We are SO kicking ass as old broads in Florida. We’re gonna sweep our age groups. πŸ™‚ You might have to ease into a tasteful leopard print tight before rockin’ the leather ones. Although I would pay serious coin to see you in a pair. I need to pull a Goldilocks in your crib. We need a new bed. For real. This one is killing me. You do not look like the sister from Flower’s in the Attic. You’re a little more “warmed up” looking. Speaking of Buffet, I’ve been giving serious thought to the Key West Half next January. We need to run that one. Is there a full? That would be awesome.

      • There is a full that goes through the keys, but the half might be better. More time for carousing. I’ve been to Key West 3-4 times. Good times, good times.
        I’ll look at the label on our bamboo mattress (new one) and send you the info. We have the same one in Matt’s room and if I recall, Jenn commented on how much she liked it when she stayed at my house. Very comfy, breathes and very reasonably priced. Our old one is a stearns & foster and awesome but prob 10 yrs old so don’t know if they still manufacture the style.
        I think I need to ease into a navy tight before tackling a leopard print.

  4. We were away for a cruise over New Years. So I went through a similar experience. My wife is already looking for our next cruise.
    Going to bed at mid-night and getting up at 9AM seems to work for me. I need a new job.
    Seriously, my goal for 2015 is a new job or to get my little business going well enough to pay the mortgage.
    I ran in 85F temps also and it was not easy. See today’s blog post.
    Welcome back to the deep freeze!
    Andy

    • LOVE THE LOOK OF THE NEW BLOG!!! I just read The Most Expensive 5K on the Planet Post! That’s awesome! There is nothing like a winter getaway. It was 80s and humid every day which did take run or two to get used to. Nice work there Usain. πŸ˜‰ Happy New Year Andy!!!

  5. You could probably become a travel agent and totally sell out a flight/hotel package to southern Florida right about now. And since you like the book “Unbroken”, I would HIGHLY suggest Louis’ (is it Louis’, Louis’s, Louisssess?????) own autobiography “Devil At My Heels”. It tells the story from his perspective (yes, I know that’s what autobiographies ARE but I don’t know how else to describe it), why he was such a SHIT as a kid, and well, just different details of his experience. Reeeeaaaaad it.
    No winter getaway for me. I have a summer one planned, so does that count?? So glad you could get away – stress sucks. We are in the “no sunshine for at least 30 more days” part of winter, although we aren’t nearly as cold as you are up there in to frozen tundra of the north. It still becomes annoying, depressing, and I look forward to a few frosty mugs come 5:00. Cheers!

    • Devil at My Heels. Girl, I am ON IT. And I mean it when I say I’m reading more this year. Dammit. Tina reads LIKE A BOSS. And I’m all like. Yeah. Um. No. Lately, if it’s not in a scientific journal, I’m not reading it. Snooze. Summer getaways do count! Are you kidding me? We’re already working on a spring one. As for frosty mugs— I’VE GOT TWO IN MY FREEZER NO JOKE! They’re waiting for me. Beckoning. I’m totally obsessed with Zamperini. I’m on it. Thanks for the recommendation. πŸ™‚

  6. I’m with you on getting away to the sunshine. Our equivalent to Florida in Australia is Queensland. That warmth after the cold is so good. Glad you had a great time. I had a giggle about the bed…we are saying the same thing – that we need to buy a bed the same as the ones in the hotels we stay in because we always sleep so well!

  7. Ummm everything you just described. We are on our way to Florida in a month and this just made me even more excited for our trip. I have got to get a break from this cold!

    I’m so glad you had a lovely and restful time, my friend! I’m afraid I’m not going to want to come back!

  8. So jealous! Even though I’m in Texas, the nearest beach is about 12 hours away, and it’s been COLD lately! Unbroken is one of the best books I’ve read. Haven’t seen the movie yet, but there’s no way it could compare to the book. Enjoy your tan while it lasts!

    • I’m going to just say it: Unbroken is definitely in my Top 10 Books of All Time list. Such an amazing story. I have heard it’s been chilly in Texas! I’m secretly glad we are not alone πŸ˜‰ You’re going to have to swaddle yourself in those beautiful hand knitted scarves of yours. THEY ARE GORGEOUS. xoxo

    • Ohhhhhhh fun!!!! Drink up, Lady. I’m telling you. Prior to my realization, I had been drinking what amounted to a thimble full of water a day (and a gallon of wine but that’s for another post.) It did NOT help my running. Chug away!

  9. I live in Florida, (Clearwater and Venice). And it is true, the people here are in awesome shape. I ran a half last year with a woman who was right on my heels the entire 13.1 miles. She was a beast, I wouldn’t let her pass me because I seriously thought she was in my age group. When I took 3rd in my ag I looked over at her sort of gloating but 15 minutes later, I watched her take 1st in her age group and I became an instant fan. She was more than 20 years older than my age group!

  10. Just got back from 4 days in Chicago. It was sunny and 75 every day. Typical January Chicago weather so January so why bother with Florida? I read ” Unbroken.” It’s a stunning book. The movie looks like the usual fake Hollywood ” Ain’t I great nonsense?” You should read ” The Ghost Runner.” Welcome back north. Hope you got your engine and batteries recharged.

  11. Pingback: Run. Read. Repeat. Who’s Up for a Challenge?! | It's A Marathon AND A Sprint

  12. Dang, I wish you woulda coordinated your vacay to coincide with mine. We could have had many running sweatathons and day drinks. I was the same when I landed in Ft. Lauderdale. Immediately went for a run, and while the it felt great to be in shorts and a tank again, I wasn’t used to the warmth. Not complainan tho.

Leave a Reply

