Run. Read. Repeat. Who’s Up for a Challenge?!

reading-is-one-form-of-escape-running-for-your-quotesRun. Rest. Repeat.

That’s pretty much the story of my life. And I’m not complaining about it. I love to run. And do so nearly every day. In fact, I love to run so much, I registered for a half-marathon on snow shoes just last week. I suckered invited Tina and a whole slew of friends to join in. Amazingly enough, they did. Nothing like a little Race Peer Pressure to kick off the New Year. Strike while the Resolution Iron is HOT, I always say! This will be time number 3 for me. And it’s going to be a charm. Trust me. If it’s anything like previous years (read 2013 and 2014 here) we’re in for a doozy of a time. Or minimally another very colorful blog post.

PMC StartI also love to ride. And do so for roughly 6 months of the year. No. I don’t ride outdoors in the snow. My Psychotic Other Half does. And that’s his problem. Not mine, Crazy Pants. In fact, I love to ride so much, I registered for my 11th consecutive Pan-Mass Challenge last week as well. Ambitious week, right?!  And yes, I am beaming with pride. The Pan-Mass Challenge is so very special to me. 200 miles in 2 days to benefit cancer research at the Dana Farber Cancer Institute. It’s fantastic. Read several of of our many PMC posts here and here and here. Tina is also in for number 3. And it’s going to be a charm. Last year we needed snorkles and wetsuits. And it didn’t even matter. I guess it’s really: Run. Ride. Rest. Repeat. Pretty much.

With all of this Running and Riding on tap, I’d say I have my body covered for 2015. I haven’t decided on the rest of My 2015 Running Itinerary yet, but I will. TBD, Baby. TBD. I know it will include a marathon, several more half marathons and maybe, just maybe if the timing is right, another 50K. {Gulp!} But what about my mind? Where are the Mind intervals? Brain fartleks? An Ultra Cranium? I hate Sudoku. And Luminosity freaks me out. How about reading for pleasure? I read enough scientific literature for work. (I know. I’m a dork. And I love it.)  I recently re-discovered how much I love reading whist chilling on a sunny beach in Florida. You can read about The Shit That Occurred to Me While Running in Florida here. In a bizarre serendipitous twist, I came across this Reading Challenge a few days ago. Perfect stinking timing. I swear the Reading Gods smiled! Such a great idea! So I said, GAME ON! I paid my overdue library card fees AND I’M READY FOR IT! I’m stoked!  In fact, I wish I could take credit for it, but alas, Pop Sugar beat me to the punch. We exercise our bodies enough. It’s time to flex the old mind.  Run. Ride. READ. Rest. Repeat. Let’s Do It!

So how about it? Anyone game for the 2015 Reading Challenge with Tina and I? Tina reads like a FIEND. I am hoping to be as fiendish. Check off as many of these babies as you can this year! We’ll post our progress as well. Oh come on. It’ll be fun. Besides, who doesn’t love a challenge? 🙂

013

61 thoughts on “Run. Read. Repeat. Who’s Up for a Challenge?!

  1. The reading challenge sounds interesting and very challenging!! (That’s a lot of books.) I read like a fiend too, but I usually just get hooked on one particular author’s work and read everything they’ve ever written before moving on. I’m on book 22-ish of my current author at the moment so I guess I could check off “a book from an author you love that you haven’t read yet” but that’s about it!! Good luck to you… hopefully a few books will be able to cover several categories (maybe a new nonfiction 2015 book with 500+ pages based on a real story written by a young female author that you’ve never read before that’s set in a Caribbean high school around Christmastime? Bingo!!) 😄

  2. Ummmm I know I’ll totally bomb on this challenge Colby but you have me inspired to read the books that I’ve started and want to complete. Do you see how you motivate me lol 🙂

  3. I love this challenge, although I’ve been a terrible reader the past few years, unless you include audiobooks. I used to be a reading fiend (basically my nose in a book 24/7), but I don’t know what happened to me!

    I’m not sure I can get through all the checklist, but it will be fun to try.

  4. When I ran the BAA half in 2013 I heard spectators cheering ” Go Danah Fawbah.” I might re-read ” Catch -22″ again. I read it in high school, read it again and then read it yet again when my daughter read it during her high school days. It might be a good time to dive back into it. That’s some catch, that Catch 22.

  5. I am IN! I need to catch up on my reading (and regain some of the real estate on my bedside table that’s currently groaning from the weight of too many unread books and New Yorkers).

  6. I love the reading list! I am swamped with books for my MA thesis at the moment, but I’ve got the rest of the year after February to tackle this challenge! Thanks for sharing.

  7. Nice!! My sister and I are doing a reading challenge too! We made a new list based on the popsugar list (mostly because one of their categories is “books with nonhuman characters” and both of us hate those kinds of books). Happy reading! Update us on the books you’ve chosen! 🙂

  8. “No. I don’t ride outdoors in the snow. My Psychotic Other Half does. And that’s his problem. Not mine, Crazy Pants. ” I have the same situation with my guy. I call him crazy and I think it’s TOTALLY dangerous to ride in the snow. He on the other hand does not…. 😛
    http://www.theweekdaytable.wordpress.com

    • Super intense! I haven’t seen a change like this before. I’m shooting for as many as possible. Book in my town!!?! Hmmmm. That one would be tough. I’m not far from Mystic, CT. I might watch Mystic Pizza with a beer in hand instead!

      • Ask at the library – they’ll tell you about books set in your town. And sometimes the author changes the name, but it really is your town. Librarians know everything…

  9. That challenge is really cool. Will have to think about it after IMFL since I’m reading all about IM’s and how to develop running programs for kids. But I LOVE to read and miss it 🙂
    Once book I read this year that was on my “things to do before I turn 41” was to read Saigon, and oh my goodness, it was a GREAT book. Enjoy!!!

    • I’m hoping to check off as many as I can. I miss reading. I forget how much Iove it! Thanks for the recommendation! LOVE that you’re developing running programs for kids. That’s fantastic. 🙂

  10. I want to do this! It’s such a challenge for me to read anything in the first place…not that I can’t obviously, but ever since Betty was born I have a hard time finding time. It would be much easier now! My first part of the challenge can be READ A BOOK. And then beyond that, let’s see what I can do. 🙂

    • With all of the juggling you do: READ A BOOK = WINNING! I’m shooting for 25. We’ll see how that pans out. I just loved the concept of it. I need to work out my mind a little more. Poor B-Hive. Nasty stuff is all around. Sweet little girl. 😦 Feel better Betty!!!

  11. Pingback: The Friday Five: Summer Should Get a Speeding Ticket. | It's A Marathon AND A Sprint

Leave a Reply

