Riding the wave. And Running for Another. 

There’s been a huge wave of Good News up in these parts the past week or so. I feel like I’m surfing an ideal point break. And it feels pretty fantastic. Not for nothing, it’s about time. I was starting to feel like that little depressed pill from the Zoloft commercials. And that’s just not me. Two awesome things happened last week: 

  1. I received The Best News Ever. And was promptly overwhelmed by all of your warm thoughts and well wishes. Thank You. Thank You. Thank You. It moved me to tears. The outpouring of support made my heart overflow. That’s the truth.  XOXO. 
  2. I found out I was named a Janji Corps Ambassador! WOOT! WOOT! 

A while back I blogged about Janjia socially conscious running clothing company that gives back by providing clean water in countries around the world. I discovered them after returning from a life changing trip to Kenya. Gotta admit. I became sort of obsessed with the company. How could I not? Go to Kenya and you’ll see first hand how horrible the water situation is. There is a water crisis in Kenya. I was so struck by that. To discover a company that dovetails what I love to do with helping others, was such a perfect find. I wanted to be a part of it. Sadly, Kenya is just one country with a water crisis. There are many, many more.

I ran full Janji today!



 Janji means “promise” in Malay. Run Janji and promise to Run for Another. I love it. Love everything about it. I am honored to be a part of this AMAZING group of Ambassadors. All runners, all committed to this cause. I’m totally impressed.  I’m even more excited to see the SPRING collection which drops this week. I had a sneak peak and it looks awesome- great bright colors and cool designs! That is, if I even remember what Spring is.  Or shirts. Or t-shirts. Or the sun for that matter…

Are you, like Tina and I, OVER winter? What’s the coldest temperature you’ve run in this winter? Rain or Snow- which would you rather run in? 

20 thoughts on “Riding the wave. And Running for Another. 

  1. I am over winter. The snow yesterday almost made me cry. I’m done. I think the coldest run I did this winter was on Saturday – I had a 17-miler and it was 7 when I left. The cold did not bother me at all. The icy roads did. For me it is never the temp; it’s the road conditions this winter that are killing me. Although I will be excited when it warms up to go for a run without having to layer up first – it feels so free! I would always rather run in snow than rain. I LOVE running through a snowfall. It’s magic.

    • I just padded down the hall for a cup of coffee and looked out the window. Easily over 6 inches. And that’s OVER inches of ice. I don’t know how you’re training for Boston. I’m slogging away, all half assed. Sigh. *waves white flag*

  2. Rain or snow? NEITHER. haha.
    I live in Chicago, obvs I”m over winter. Hooray for Janji! Erica wore a Janji Singlet this weekend and it helped me immensely when trying to find her, lol.

    • MY FAST FRIEND! CONGRATULATIONS!!! I nearly flipped when I saw the picture of you and Erica pop up in my news feed! I was all green with envy! She is my fellow ambassador! I love how worlds collide. That singlet is awesomely BRIGHT. Love it! Was the Phoenix sunshine a delightful tease or what? So proud of you (and Erica!), Suze. Can’t wait for your recap tomorrow. 🙂

  3. This is great news! I’ve heard of Janji before but didn’t know too much about them. I’m definitely ready for spring, but trying not to whine about winter too much, because, really, it just is what it is, and whining won’t change it. I ran a 5k race in -6 windchill temps last month, and due to the shortness of the race, it wasn’t actually that bad.

  4. On February 1st I think it was sub 0 with the wind chill.
    Ran in 12F on Saturday. I felt comfortable after a mile or so, but if I stopped for just a few minutes the freeze set in. After our run we didn’t hang out and chat. We all got in our cars and went home!
    I prefer to run in snow. The rain soaks through eventually and if it is cold it freezes you to the bone.

  5. Complete opposite here. It’s the third day of autumn and I am so loving the cooler mornings and evenings. I’m just a bit over slogging it out in stinking heat 🙂 But that’s what’s good about the seasons, they roll around and give us a change.

    • Give me a few more months and I’ll be slogging right there with you! This has been the coldest winter we have had. Like almost ever. Honestly? What I’m most looking forward to is a little more daylight. Night running plus sheets of ice do not mix for this gal! 🙂

  6. OVER. IT. Coldest temp was probably the 15 miler last month when my nose started bleeding and I vowed to run inside until we saw more reasonable temperatures again. And I prefer rain any day of the week!
    CONGRATS on Janji!!! They are such a great company!

    • Ohhhhh I love that you have one! I’ve gotten a sneak peak at the Spring line and it’s WAY FUN. In fact I am CHOMPING AT THE BIT to wear a tank. Soon, Grasshopper. Soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

