Spring THIS.

Middle Fingers in the Air

Vernal Equinox MY ASS.

I’m looking out my window this very second. And guess what? IT’S SNOWING.

{Throws self on floor. Screams like banshee.}

Yup. Snowing. And sticking. Oh, I can’t wait for the commute home. It will be Shit Show Commute #28 of the season.

YOU’RE KILLING ME, WINTER.

I’m losing it. I know I’m not the only one who will be shoveling 5 inches of snow tonight. I know I’m not the only one who will be strapping on my Yak Trax, throwing on my stinking mittens, and heading out in the snow for a run- whenever the hell time I get home. I know this is a total whiny, cry baby, #firstworldproblems quick post, but for the love of Spring, GIVE A RUNNER A BREAK. All I want to do is RUN. Without falling. Preferably in shorts. My legs look like something from a V.C Andrews novel. (Note: I would have zero trouble being cast as the daughter in a ‘Flower’s in the Attic’ remake. I am ghastly.)

It’s all making me miserable. And I’m just at the point where I’m ready, and I mean really ready to kick up my training. I am pumped for the year ahead. Yes, I know it’s March. But honestly, the first 3 months of 2015 were a wash. My 2015 started a few weeks ago. Truth. I am finally planning my racing schedule now that I’m “In the Clear.”  I am also in the process of sorting out my eating, sleeping, and training as well. BIG CHANGES UP IN HERE!  It’s going to be a whole “Colby Reboot” of sorts. (Stay tuned. It will be colorful, I am sure. 🙂 ) For now? I just want some damn snow free pavement. Some beautiful trails. Some trees with buds on them. Maybe some grass? Hell. It doesn’t even have to be green.

Yet.

In the meantime, take a look at this RIDICULOUS nonsense from The Onion. It made me giggle. Then I looked out the window, and wept.

What’s the weather like where you are right this minute? Have you ever stomped around like a petulant child when the weather didn’t go your way? Whatcha got on tap this weekend?

41 thoughts on “Spring THIS.

  1. Freaking snowing. And then more snowing. It was apparently supposed to be finished snowing at around 10am, but as I’m looking out the window right now…nope. Still snowing. Just in time for my 20 miler. This is so unfair!

  2. oh no.. don’t read my last post. I’m in the west coast. It’s a little breezy, but still sunny in a cloudy way. ha 56 degrees here.
    this weekend.. working both days. eh

  3. On the plus side Rita’s gave out free treats today in honor of the first day of spring. At least you wouldn’t have to worry about it melting all over you.

  4. Snow here too! I got to see my back yard for two days then bam, 5+ inches of white stuff. Yesterday I was in complete denial about the weather and signed up for my first ever 10k TOMORROW on TRAILS…… Which are now covered in fresh snow. What was I thinking?? Good thing I have yaktrax. :-/

  5. Luckily it’s not snowing here…it’s 50 degrees or so…but it MIGHT snow tomorrow (fingers crossed it doesn’t….)

    I definitely throw fits sometimes haha and then I have to step back and ask “ok lauren, how old are you?” haha but hey, in March we all get to the end of our ropes, weather-wise.

Leave a Reply

