Birthday Bimbler’s Bash!

A Wheely Good Birthday

Wheely Good Coffee, Presents and the Sun. Happy Birthday to Me!

Big Birthday Weekend for Colby! And what, pray tell did I get for my Birthday, you ask?

A BIG OLD SLICE OF SUNSHINE!

It was glorious! Two magnificent spring days! It was just what I wanted. Awww. Thanks, Mother Nature. And in the nick of time! Just when I thought I would shank you, you send the sun out to warm my Vitamin D deprived heart. You’re a peach.

The weekend started off with sushi and cocktails and segued into a Gorgeous Birthday Trail Run, followed by a bike ride on our old Schwinn Cruisers to breakfast OUTSIDE!, a walk with the pups, more cocktails and dinner at a delicious tapas joint.

And then there were 7…

Oh. And more wine. You’re sensing a theme here, right?

My Other Half and I registered to run a 10k (ish) trail race, The Bimbler’s Bash, on Sunday morning. It seemed like a good decision when we pre-reg’d a week prior. Our pre-race fuel? Octopus leg (see above), skate (aka, The Doormat of the Sea), empanadas and a gallon of Albarino. If you’re wondering how one races on octopus leg and copious amounts of Spanish wine, it’s gingerly. One races gingerly.

Bimbler's Bashe

The good thing about The Bimbler’s Bash is that it’s right smack in my hometown. So when you wake up late with an octopus hangover, it is comforting to know that your 10k(ish) trail race is a mere 2 miles from home. If we had had our shit together, we would have run there. Alas, ’twas not the case. But dammit we made it. (Thank you, Skratch Labs Hydration Mix) And we were smiling!

The Bimbler’s Bash runs through Westwoods Trails in Guilford, Connecticut. Westwoods is beautiful. It’s very well marked and maintained by the Guilford Land Conservation Trust. I run there often. But never often enough to really know my way around. Which is a complete shame, and something I plan on addressing this summer. It’s the perfect place to get lost in. Because when you’re 2 miles away, you’re never THAT far from home. The trail system has about 39 miles of trails with really interesting features: caves, lakes, streams, rivers and all sorts of cool rock formations. We actually scrambled up several of them.

Scramble Colby, Scramble. Photo: C & D Studios

The terrain is technical, with lots of single track, rocks and tons of roots. Throw in a hangover and you’re falling on your face. It’s awesome. And I love running there. But racing there on a beautiful spring day, with your cyclist boyfriend who I swear was an Elite runner in a past life ? PERFECTIONBimbler Forest GumpI guess they weren’t kidding. I say 10k (ish) because its gotta be over 7 miles. Maybe 7.5? I couldn’t tell you. We had zero Garmins between us. All I know is I got to what I thought was the half way point, and still had a ways to go. That’s the great thing about trail races: PEOPLE ARE LAID BACK. That doesn’t mean they’re not competitive, they’re just not anxious. Nice and chill. And? WHAT A GREAT RACE! I can’t believe I haven’t run it before. Nice organizers, friendly people, cute T-Shirts and a truly awesome course. What more can you ask for? And I didn’t get lost. WIN! We both had a blast. It was tough, but man was it fun! My Other Half can really Bimble. Me? I’m more of a Basher.

Doing things you love, with people you love. There is simply nothing better! 

23 thoughts on “Birthday Bimbler’s Bash!

  1. What an awesome birthday weekend and fantastic race! But why did you leave out the best part of your weekend? I even stayed awake the whole time!

    • Oh Hazel. I know you did, Dolly. I captured you and my other “chicks” by saying doing things you love with people you love….. And I do love, eating, drinking and shootin’ the shit with my best girls!!! xoxoxoxo

  2. Okay wait a minute….suckers (gross), skate (not the roller type), Spanish wine (prefer my Napas), a trail run and YOU DIDN’T FALL ON YOUR FACE AND BREAK ANYTHING?!?!? WHO ARE YOU AND WHAT HAVE YOU DONE WITH MY COLBY?????!!!!! Quick – what’s the CT Husky’s name? Answer wrong and the consequences shall be tragic. Just sayin’…

    • JONATHAN! Winner, winner octopus dinner!

      I know right?? Lookit me go! No falls. Just some minor blood shed which has scabbed up all purty. Prickers, man. They’ll kill ya. πŸ™‚

    • It’s the perfect trifecta! And thank you Shawna!! The race was so much fun. I smiled all day afterwards! You know, in that – Holy Cripes That Was Hard Fun- kind of way! πŸ™‚

  3. Awww yeahhh! Happy Birthday!!!! I love octopus legs too! Glad you had such a great time. You look really happy in all your pics. I’m just still waiting for the Harry Potter scar to make it’s long awaited appearance! πŸ˜‰

    • Never!!!! And thank you! What’s not to be happy about? Running. Outside. Sunshine. My Other Half. Some kick ass food. And wine. That’s my idea of perfect. πŸ™‚ My plastic surgeon has a plan…….

  4. Pingback: Run Where I Live: Connecticut! | It's A Marathon AND A Sprint

  5. Pingback: The Weekly Running Recap: Are we there yet?Β  | It's A Marathon AND A Sprint

Leave a Reply

