The Friday Five. Five Fuels You Can Run On!

Hey there Friday, you sexy SOB! I’ve missed you. I’ve also missed teaming up with the ever lovely Friday Five Crew! Mar @ Mar on the Run, Courtney @ Eat, Pray, Run, DC and Cynthia @ You Signed Up for What?! With National Running Day as this week’s theme, I’ve decided to slap together 5 Favorite Fuels for The Long Run. I need to wax poetic about The Long Run because I’m going to be missing it while training for my next marathon using the Hansons Method. Relive my Big Training Decision HERE. ERMAGHERD is right.

Fueling for the Long Run is imperative. And with the amount of GUs, gels, wafers, waffles and other shit floating around the market, there are plenty of options ranging from totally synthetic to natural-as-can-be goodness. While we all would love to eat as clean as we can, there are times ripping open a GU because you are so rushed you barely brushed your teeth but had to get in a workout- is totally in order. Here are 5 of Colby’s Go To Fuels!

  1. Salted Watermelon GU. I’m going traditional up in here. Well traditional in GU, not really in flavor. I discovered this little bad boy last summer and posted about it HERE. Read the yumminess. I know it sounds like Franken-GU but it’s delicious. They’ve got salty and sweet totally covered. And it works. I don’t usually have GI problems with GUs or gels which is why I usually stash ‘em in my pocket for runs or ride. This little packet of happiness and Salted Caramel are my all-time faves. Can you tell I’m sodium challenged? If I could run with a salt lick, I totally would. This is why I also love Bloody Mary’s, but not as running fuel. Crazy Pants…Salted Watermelon Gu
  2. Jelly Belly Sports Beans. I had the ABSOLUTE pleasure of going to the Mother Jelly Belly Ship and watching how these guys are born. It was awesome! I’m a fan of the jelly bean on long runs. It’s something about chewing. I like to chew. I may have been a ruminant in a previous life. Jelly Beans have saved me on many occasions. And they even come with caffeine if you’re so inclined. Yes I am inclined. Tina thinks Jelly Beans are the Next Superfood. Read her thoughts HERE.At the Mother Ship!
  3. Skratch Labs’ Fruit Drops. These are the BOMB. And they’re new on the scene. I just got them and unlike beans and gels, they not tooth-shockingly sweet.  They’re a pectin based energy chew with a specific ration of glucose and fructose that is flavored only with real fruit. There are no coloring agents, flavorings or waxes which are commonly added to other products like this.  I have the raspberry and they are outstanding. Juicy even. If that makes sense. They’re my new Go-To pre-made portable. And they work. Imagine that? A product that actually does what it says it’s gonna do. Yum. Yum. And yum.
    Photo: Skratch Labs

    Photo: Skratch Labs

  4. Mejdool Dates. They may be ugly, but they are DELISH. They’re also Having Their Moment. One pitted medjool date—easy to pop in your mouth mid-stride—is 66 calories and has 18 grams of carbohydrates. Medjools are low-medium on the Glycemic Index so you get smaller fluctuations in blood glucose and insulin levels. Read:  More sustained energy without the “sugar crash”.  But pit those bitches. You don’t want to be mid-stride and break your chompers.Medjool Dates
  5. Chocolate & Sea Salt Sticky Bites. What more is there to say except GET IN MY BELLY. Another Skrtach Labs’ creation. If you are totally over buying pre-made, pre-packaged, pre-sugared-within-an-inch-of-it’s-life products and have time to make something far more “real” and natural, check out Skratch Labs’ Feed-Zone-Poratbles Cookbook. The recipes are not hard at all- especially if you have a rice cooker. I whip out bars for riding all the time. And they’re delicious. In a perfect world, we fuel with REAL food. If you have the time, the Feed Zone Cookbooks are really exceptional. Chococlate Salty Balls? Why yes, please! Recipe courtesy of Skratch Labs.

Chocolate & Sea Salt Sticky Bites!

Ingredients

1 cup uncooked sticky rice

1/2 cup uncooked rolled oats

2 cups water

1 table spoon brown sugar

2 tablespoons bittersweet chocolate (chips or shaved)

1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract

dash of salt to taste

Mixing Instructions

1) Combine oats, rice and water with a dash of salt in a rice cooker and cook. Let cool to the touch

2) In a medium bowl, combine the cooked rice and oats with the remaining ingredients. Stir to incorporate the flavor throughout the sticky mixture

3) Press into an airtight storage container or shape as individual bites, Sprinkle with chocolate and salt (careful not to add too much salt here…a little goes a long way)

Storing / Wrapping:  Sticky bites can be stored in the fridge in an airtight container or individually wrapped.

Storage: Press the sticky mixture into a shallow airtight container and top with plastic wrap. Simply cut and wrap the bites as you need.

Wrap: Place a heaping tablespoon of the sticky mixture on a small piece of plastic wrap. Press into a shape like an ice cube or spoon. Roll plastic wrap lengthwise and then twist the ends like a hard candy wrapper.

What’s your go-to premade fuel? What’s your natural fuel? Salty or Sweet? GO!

33 thoughts on “The Friday Five. Five Fuels You Can Run On!

    • I still haven’t tried those— but I’m going to give ’em a whirl!!! Especially for long bike rides, I really love their portable recipes. They’re so freaking good. It’s just carving out the time to make the damn things! Cheers Lady!

    • You crack me up. And I’m GREEN WITH ENVY at your upcoming R2R!!! I need in on that one!!! Enjoy the weekend lady. I’m counting the hours until I have a cold beer in my hand……xoxo

  1. I met someone at an event the other night saying they liked Skratch Labs and I immediately thought of you!
    You know that I loooooooove me my sport beans.
    When I first started running, I relied on the fantastically fake bright orange Duane Reade dried mango. Not the natural kind. This ish is like candy.

    • Skratch Labs is my JAM!!! I was both shocked the incredibly thrilled about their fruit drops. They’re freaking awesome. Jelly Beans are just awesome. And they totally have their place. My least fave are gels but I tend to use all of them. Girls gotta get her chew on. 🙂

  2. The only thing I can keep down during long runs are the espresso love Gu’s. All these fuels sound delicious, but if I’ve learned one thing it’s go with what you know!

    • You gotta stick with what works! Espresso Love is in the top 3 gels for me. Salted caramel is pretty dope. Gotta admit. I’m lucky in that I can handle all types. My stomach is part goat. 🙂

  3. whoa so many things to try! you’re super creative here. gah okay so i am the worst with fueling…i like cutting up shot blocks into manageable pieces. Gu makes my stomach so unhappy so i try to steer clear, but i can manage the vanilla bean with some water. never heard of those fruit drops! always looking for new ideas, so thanks!

    • There’s so much out there. And minimally I think more companies are getting hip to the fact that not everyone has an IRON GUT. I dig shot blocks but the damn packaging is a pain. I used to be really bad with fueling but thankfully I’ve gotten better. Bonking is soooo not cute. 🙂

    • Skratch is a great company—especially if you have a touchy stomach. They’re drink mixes are my all time favorite. I’ve been drinking them for years—really good with REAL ingredients. 🙂

  4. My latest thing is baby food. Yup, baby food. In the squishy packages. I don’t eat the veggie mixtures (blech) , just the fruity ones. I wish it had more calories, but I look for the ones that are at least 100 calories. I love dates too, but have to watch the amount of fibre in those bad boys. I’m going to try that sticky rice recipe though.

  5. BIG VOTE for Skratch fruit drops here. I used them on Saturday, when I was already having GI issues pre-race, and kept them down no problem. THEY will be my go-to for running from now on. No question.
    Probably the only thing I like better about riding than running is that I don’t have to be as careful with fuel. I could eat a plate of nachos and hop on the bike, no prob. I’m definitely going to try the sticky rice chocolate thingies because Skratch labs hasn’t let me down yet and you know that even though I am not the healthiest eater in the world, I make everything from scratch (no pun intended!) whenever possible. Thanks, Lovey! xo

  6. I had 2 of those salted watermelon GUs at my last half marathon. Yuk! Sorry.
    It was a half, I was (am) out of shape and I needed them so I took them. I thought the flavor was way too strong.
    I spoke with a Rep for GU a few weeks ago. Apparently the salted watermelon is quite popular. He also said they have a plain GU, which is just the goop and no flavor.

    • It is strong. And admittedly not for everyone. Especially if you’re not a fan of watermelon jolly ranchers. I dig ’em in the summer. How on earth are you out of shape? You’re a crazy runner Andy! Crazy talk.

      • Well, I’m not even running 20 miles/week. I ran a 5K today and it was my first run since my last 5K. I need to buckle down and train right before I get hurt,
        I know I’m not running these races w/ Olympians, but there are still real runners at these races.
        I’ve been first in my age group today and my previous 5K. Now that is crazy!
        More in Monday’s blog post.

  7. I love Jelly Belly sports beans but I can’t buy them in Australia and the shipping is just too expensive to justify. I bought them in NZ but now can’t find them there either. I’ve been getting into Hammer bars (choc chip, cashew and something else…coconut maybe). So yummy. And since using them I haven’t had that errgh feeling on a run. One per half marathon distance.

Leave a Reply

