Running, Riding, Racing. And a Cookie.

anchormanhoorayAnother week in the books! Before I launch into Colby’s Week In Review, I’d like to take a quick second to say Happy Father’s Day to all of the Daddio’s out there! Dads are special folks. Especially My Other Half. Who is a kind man, a hard worker and a wonderful, loving father.  Muaaahhhh! Love fest complete.

On to Colby’s 3rd Week of Marathon Training! Note: I’m trying to be all peppy and shit about this, so as to keep my proverbial ‘marathon-ball’ rolling. These posts are purely self-serving. They are keeping my ass on track. They are holding me accountable. And they are keeping my honest. Please humor me and read them. Cheer or heckle, if you’d like. I’ve just gotta put them out there.  I’ve got a goal, dammit. And if I don’t achieve it, at least I can’t say I DIDN’T FREAKING TRY. It’s that damn Hanson Method. It’s got me all really running. Who am I?

Monday: 5.5 miles at the prescribed pace in the pouring rain. It was supposed to be 6 miles. But it started thundering and I screamed and ran straight home. I hate running in thunder and lightning. Snow? Sleet? Hail? Pouring rain? All fine. But Thunder and it’s nasty sister, Lightning? Game. Over.

Tuesday: 7 miles. INTERVALS. They’re not getting easier, but I am- dare I say- starting to enjoy them?? 12 x 400, 400 recovery. For what seemed like an eternity. But I did them. YES. And I have the sweaty mean mug to prove it. 

Game face.

Wednesday: Rest. Sweet Baby Jesus. Rest. And rest I did. I firmly planted my tired ass on the couch and binged on documentaries on Netflix. One of which was The Queen of Versailles. Totally engaging. I started watching it thinking it was merely going to be an extension of the Real Housewives Franchise,  but it quickly took a turn going from ‘Reality Series’ to ‘Shit Just Got Real.’ I couldn’t look away. Watch it if you haven’t. Sadly, one of the daughters in the documentary was recently found deceased which is what prompted me to watch it in the first place. The whole story is totally tragic yet, totally worth your time. 

Thursday: 6 pleasant miles. At the prescribed pace. I could have run all night. It was actually cool out. The storms broke that awful humidity, and my legs were feeling moderately “fresh.” Go figure.

Friday: 6 trail miles with My Other Half AND DRUNK OTIS!  This was our first foray together into the woods, as a little trail running family. And? Drunk Otis ain’t so drunk on the trails. He’s Sober Otis, Cover Dog for Field and Stream magazine. I couldn’t believe it. He’s a natural. He’s also quite big on the No Man Left Behind concept. He waited patiently for his sweaty human, showing her which way to go with the biggest, slobberiest smile. Such a good dog. He was made for this.  And when we busted around the corner, startling a deer? He stood like a statue and POINTED. He didn’t chase. He didn’t go off of the trail. He didn’t leave our sides. He freaking POINTED. We couldn’t believe it. Of course he swam in every puddle, stream and thimble full of water he could find, but that was AOK with us. So proud of our New Boy. Great kick off to the weekend. 

Drunk Otis, Cover Dog.

Saturday: I was supposed to run 6, but instead rode 47 miles with my girl, Carly! Such a great day. One that ended at a delicious new cookie shop in town, Red Rooster Gourmet Cookies. Fresh and Delicious.   

Cookie Monsters.

 I may or may not have yelled: COME ON! GET OUT OF THE SADDLE, CARLY. WE’RE GETTING COOOOOOOKIES!!!!!!! During our last climb. On the top of my lungs. Like a Crazy Person. Christ, we could almost smell the cookies from there. Talk about incentive. Those cookies tasted like heaven. If heaven was made out of buttery goodness. After the cookie stop, we headed back, picked up The Boys, who had been out shreddin’ the gnar, and refueled properly. That is, with beer and lobstah rolls. Such a perfect day with friends. 

Stony Creek Brewery. Cheers!

Sunday: I was supposed to run 8 miles, but instead raced 5. In the rain. On very tired legs. I woke up. Listened to the thunder, then promptly fell back asleep. I’m so not racing in this weather. (See Monday.)  Woke up again. Texted Tina. She agreed. Bullshit. Listened to rain drops. Drank coffee. Reassessed my legs. Meh. They’re moving. Gun goes off in 35 minutes. COME ON! YOU’RE DROPPING ME OFF.   

Super Janji!

I throw on brand new Janji singlet, grab a banana and a bottle of Skratch Labs and jump in Other Half’s car. Make it to the start area with 4 minutes to spare. Hear announcer. Run wildly. Score an open porta-potty. 3 minutes. Dash to the start. Wind up next to my friend whom I was supposed to meet an hour ago. What are the odds? We hug. I’m off. It sounds frenzied, but honestly, it was the calmest start EVER. I should always be running late. I didn’t even THINK about running. Or having to pee. Or not drinking enough. I JUST RAN. And considering that I felt like a broken down barnacle barge? I had a decent race. YAHOO! 

Miles Run: Just shy of 30.

Miles Ridden: 47.

Cookies Consumed: 1.5

Have you ever dashed to a starting line, and made it in the nick of time?Do you draw the line at thunder and lightning? If you were granted one day of Netfix Binge, what would you watch? 

41 thoughts on “Running, Riding, Racing. And a Cookie.

  1. I love the documentaries on Netflix. I just watched a great one on Antartica A Year on Ice. Last week was “Farmland”. Totally awesome. And TINY. About a young guy in Boulder building his tiny house. Great viewing! Love the new Janji singlet! OTIS ROCKS! Your blog is a wonderful read. Thanks for sharing. Ron

  2. No, no and I’d trade the Netflix binge for a hundred miler with Mike, Phill, Matt and my wife. Any day of the week and twice on Sunday.

    I did watch the first season of The Wire in one night though, long, long ago.

    Nice week Colby

  3. 1. Yes to dashing to the start line and no to making it in time (I settled for 8 corrals back). I felt fast that day though! 2. Definitely draw the line at thunder and lightning. 3. I’m likely one of the few who doesn’t have Netflix, only because I’d never leave the couch. Therefore, I have no clue what I’d watch as I’d want to watch everything!!

    • I’m sure you did feel fast that day! Holy adrenaline! Thunder and lightning is DEFINITELY where the line gets drawn. No doubt. And as for Netflix—it’s the death of me in winter. I do have some control. πŸ˜‰

  4. I ate more cookies than that and ran half as much. 😦 I’ve been feeling like I need a good Netflix binge but can’t decide what to watch! There’s one race I have run twice and never made it to the start on time- thank goodness for chip timing. πŸ™‚

  5. Way to go, Colby! I’ve been doing a lot of the same. Not training for a BQ or for speed necessarily but just doing a ton of miles training for my first ultra. Back to back long runs are the WORST!!! But I’m loving the trail runs. I get my roadbike out for a long ride at least once a week to cross train like a good girl…because running 5 days a week isn’t punishment enough LOL. Also, thought I’d try my luck at a sprint tri. I’m nervous as shit considering I haven’t stepped foot in the water all year and I have zero competitive swimming experience. It was an impulse decision. I signed up a couple days ago and the event is this Saturday. I’m so gonna die lol! ….Anywho, I’m so jealous of your awesome running companion!! Drunk Otis seems like the shit! And you have inspired me to try the Hanson method next year. It’s gonna be epic! And, lastly, running in thunderstorms scare the shit outa me. Done it a handful of times, on accident, of course. I’m pretty sure I’ve run in every weather condition imaginable so it wouldn’t be complete if I hadn’t felt the hair stand up on the back of my neck just before almost getting struck by lightening a few times LOL! Keeping on pushing on. Forward is forward no matter how slow is my ultra mantra this year. Doesn’t quite work for you this year though… Run bitches! How’s that? Haha πŸ˜‰

    • Run Bitches works for me!!! Slow and steady. And ALL THE MILES. At least that was my Ultra plan too. When is it? I’m proud of you already!!! And as for Drunk Otis—- He’s totally The. Shit. Silly brown dog. πŸ™‚

      • Thanks, Colby! It’s mid September. And every time I glance at my training plan for the hottest months of the year I have a mini panick attack. Every. Time. I can’t believe I’m going to be running that many miles this summer! God help me!!!

      • I’m so proud of you already!!!! Write it down. And get it done. It was such a slug fest. But I’ve never been more proud of myself in my damn life. Crossing that finish line was IT. XOXO

  6. You had me at cookie. I’ve had a few races (read, not many but I’m sure at least one) where I showed up and just went for it. I always did better when I was horseshowing when I just showed up and rode and didn’t have time to think.
    Generally, I do better when I don’t have time to think. STUPID BRAIN

    • That damn stupid brain gets in the way of EVERYTHING. Show up and go. That’s my new motto. The waiting breaks me down! And yes. Cookies. That place has the BEST. And it’s less than two miles away……….I AM WEAK.

  7. Hilarious post and awesome job this week!!! I am mid-binge of Mad Men and cannot get enough of it–seriously a rainy Sunday may have Don Draper all over it πŸ™‚

  8. Cookies are definitely a superfood. I made some last week that had peanut butter and oatmeal in them (and chocolate chips. and m&ms).

    Smelling cookies during a run/ride would be the biggest motivation for a strong finish.

    • We should start a COOKIES ARE SUPERFOODS movement. And shit. Peanut Butter? Oatmeal? It might as well be a vegetable. At least that’s my story. And I’m stickin’ to it!! πŸ˜‰

  9. HAHA, I would love to run with you, just had to say that. Several of my long runs have been in thunder and lightening, and let me tell you-as scary as it is, you feel very bad ass when you are done. Tonight is my first track/interval training session and I am nervous!!!

  10. I ran the Dallas half marathon two years ago, and ran from my car in the parking lot across the start line and immediately started the race. I was so late I was behind all the corrals. If I could spend a day with Netflix I would totally nerd out on any and all documentaries : )

  11. I was at the beach when I read this post and couldn’t comment until now….
    !!!!! I’m so excited for you and Sober Trail Otis!!! That’s awesome that he was so perfect on his first trail run. Dogs automatically knowing the No Man Left Behind concept is not something to take for granted… you are so lucky!! Also pretty cool that he pointed. I didn’t know that was a lab thing. What a good dog! πŸ˜„

  12. Wow, great running!! I would draw the line at thunder and lightning too. It poured at the start of my marathon this weekend and was supposed to storm but thank god, it didn’t. They probably would have delayed the start if it did…or forced us off the course if it started when we were already running. Yikes! Glad you made it home safe πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

