The Ultimate Retest

Well slap on a tourniquet and find me a vein!  It’s Retest Time!  And I’m freaking out.Dying

  • Remember that time I found out I was really 60.3 years old according to InsideTracker’s InnerAge measurement, which looks at your chronoclogical age vs. key biomarkers then tells you how old you really are? In my case, I was 17-point-freaking-3 years OLDER than I actually am. Yes. Hello, AARP Card.
  • Remember that time I was feeling completely “off” and decided to be proactive about my health and took InsideTracker’s Ultimate Test, examining a whole slew of biomarkers that could possibly be contributing to my overall “Meh-ness”?
  • Remember that time I had a horrible cancer scare, and decided to GET IT TOGETHER, and be the healthiest, best Colby I could be? Let’s face it. I dodged a bullet. I would be crazy not to.

Yeah. I remember it. I remember it all. The stress. The insomnia. The results.  If you don’t remember, please, read my original review, In Search of Optimal Health. My InsideTracker Review HERE. It was eye-opening.

 InsideTracker is a personalized health analytics company who’s platform tracks and analyzes key biochemical and physiological markers in your blood. And let me tell you: Blood Don’t Lie. Once your blood is analyzed, their platform analyzes your results with jazzy algorithms and a massive scientific database to determine your optimal range. You wind up with personalized optimal zones for each marker. When markers are not optimal? They provide you with science-driven nutritional and lifestyle interventions all geared towards improving performance, vitality and overall health. Totally empowering.

Since receiving the results from my original Ultimate Test, I have implemented many of the nutritional and lifestyle recommendations into my daily life. I honestly have. Which is why I am chomping at the bit here. There were 3 particular biomarkers that needed serious work:

  1. Vitamin D. Bone Health and Energy. My level was in the weeds.
  2. hsCRP. The high sensitivity C-Reactive Protein (hsCRP) test measures CRP,  a marker of inflammation throughout the body. I don’t even want to discuss how high mine was. I would venture to say that it was high because I hadn’t slept soundly and continuously in MONTHS. Insomnia is NOT a friend. Relive my angst, HERE.
  3. Cortisol. When you hear “cortisol,” think stress. Your body releases this hormone in response to stress- physical, emotional. Mine was obscenely high. Health concerns + Insomnia = STRESS. No surprise that my cortisol levels were crazy high. A cancer scare will do that to you.

Then there was InnerAge. {Sigh.}

InnerAgeI wish I could tell you that my real name ISN’T Nicole. And that it was sent to that poor, old, broad by mistake. Alas, it is I. What was driving this? Several things. My OBNOXIOUS hsCRP levels, my non-existent vitamin D levels and glucose levels that, while not officially “high” were higher than normal (for me). Thanks, High Cortisol Level. You’re a peach. My liver values were, shock of all shocks, optimal. Cheers!

Ouch.

I had my blood drawn yesterday. I’m already obsessing over the results. Patience, Grasshopper. I will say this:

  • I have been sleeping 7-8 hours a night. 
  • I am less achy. 
  • I am running tons of miles lately, and am recovering really well. KNOCK ON WOOD, PEOPLE.
  • I have lost 5 pounds. Bonus!
  • I feel leaner. 
  • I have clearer skin. 
  • I feel much brighter. 

And now, the wait. Cross you paws. And call me Benjamin Button. 

To definitely be continued…

How many hours of sleep do you get per night? Do you take any supplements? How old do you feel

37 thoughts on “The Ultimate Retest

  1. I met with Jonathan and talked about their tests. I’m thinking about doing it.
    I sleep about 6 hours a night, and that’s an improvement. I had to work to get to a fairly consistent 6 hours per night. A few nights a months I’d get 2 hours or so. It was horrible.
    So 6 isn’t great, but it’s great to me.
    My Doc has me on a B12 and multi vitamin. Vitamins never make me feel any better but my numbers are better when Doc does my blood tests.
    I’m sure you’re results will be much better.

    • You did?!? He’s fantastic. I am really anxious to see how it goes. This round I did not take any supplements. I tried to incorporate more focus foods into my diet. Sleep was the biggest change for me. When you’re an excellent, deep sleeper and turn into an insomniac, you pretty much FALL APART. Stress is a BEAST. Let me know if you do it!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I’ve struggled with sleep and stress for like. Ever. I’ve tried everything to help it but am now 10 lbs over weight give or take and tired. All. The. Time. Way to go getting a hold on your health! Share your secrets please!!! Xoxoxo

  3. I need to look into this. I feel early 30s but I know my lack of sleep and stress have added years to my life!!
    I am trying to be in bed by 10-lights out by 10:30 to get 7 hrs…hasn’t quite happened. A work in progress.

    Way to go on making your needed changes. Good luck on your results.

  4. I’m excited to hear about the results!! I bet they’re way better! I like at least 8 hours, but I typically get 7 to 7.5. If I didn’t instagram so much I’d probably get more sleep – darn social networks.

    • You and me both, Angie!!! I’ll take even a little bit better! I hear you on social media. That’s one of the things I’m limiting before bed—screens. I’ve switched to actual BOOKS before bed. #sweetdreams

  5. Dear Benjamin,
    I am so freaking proud of how you took those results and made big changes in your life. You looked fit and great at the Fairfield Half and not a day over 35. I need to take a page from your book. Currently, I am supplementing by getting french fries with my burgers. Aaaah, summer. Maybe I should switch to a multi instead. Working on the sleep thing and getting better, even though sometimes I have to make it up in naps due to an insomniac night. Still, better than nothing. Stress? Ugh. I think I need to use more of that “F*ck That” guided meditation I posted the other day.
    I do drink lots of water – does that count for anything???
    xo Old Lady Who Lives in a Shoe

  6. so i never realized Colby was short for Nicole and i think that’s so cuuuuuute and love that combo! i’m such a nickname person (i go by Shosh to my girlfriends here but not in blog world!). i need to get more sleep, b/c i’m a person who likes a lot. this week wasn’t so hot for that — hoping the wknd will be better! too many dates. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. I’m still obsessed with this. The science nerd in me is beyond interested to see how blood work can tell us so much about our bodies. I definitely am the worst about sleep – usually get about 7 hours a night. I would like to get more but for whatever reason I can never sleep past 7! I take iron supplements, a multi-vitamin, vitamin-D in the winter, and fish oil. Who knows if they do anything… but why not at least try ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I am too. The science nerd is on HIGH ALERT. I also don’t want to over interpret anything either. Or diagnose myself with Cushing’s Syndrome. It’s definitely a snap shot of your overall health. The biologist in me who lives and breathes by biomarkers is AMPED FOR THIS. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  8. I have a friend named Nicole and we call her “Colie” .. I never knew the name Nicole was so versatile! I’m so glad you’re feeling younger ๐Ÿ™‚ Fingers are crossed.

  9. I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you! I could probably use one of these tests myself. I know my diet sucks and I don’t get enough quality sleep. My family history is rife with all kinds of scary health issues, so I need to get it together while I’m still young.

    • Get it together girl! I’m swimming in a genetic cesspool. Which is part of the reason why I’m a MANIAC. Cardiac issues all up in here. Do it while you can. You’re worth it. Xo

  10. I’m pretty good at falling asleep (I think i’m just really tired of being around me all day long that sleep is a welcome respite). But stress levels have been through the roof for the past year, and my vitamin D is abysmal. I think I am biologically closing in on 100.

  11. I’m new to your blog so I didn’t know about your Inside Tracker results, but it sounds cool (even if they tell you that you are 60, ha!). What a great way to see if you are really taking care of yourself. I’m working on the sleep thing – I could use 7 hours, usually get more like 5-6. Ugh. The struggle is real. I had issues with stress fractures a few years back so I actually take a lot of supplements. My doctor had run blood work and did a DEXA scan (test for osteoporosis – at 32 years old! Ugh!) and found I was pretty calcium deficient. My good friend is a pharmacist and came up with a supplement schedule for me to follow. It was pretty cool! I swear I feel 25 most of the time…I don’t know how I could be in my 30s. It doesn’t make sense. When did that happen?? How do we make it stop??

    • If you figure out how we can make it stop, text me immediately. THIS IS RIDICULOUS. I’m so happy you’re following our blog! And Girl, you’ve got some catching up to do. I was a hot mess. I do believe I’ve turned a corner. I hope. DEXA at 32 with a bunch of stress fractures?!? Yikes! I’m happy you’re on track with supplements. Scary though it may be, knowledge is power! Take that calcium! ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Pingback: Running, Retesting, and Laughing My Head Off.ย  | It's A Marathon AND A Sprint

Leave a Reply

