Running, Imploding and Realizing I Have Eight Weeks To Go!

Ten. Ten weeks of Hansons Marathon Training down. Eighteen weeks total. Eight to go. I’ve crested. Now it’s time to descend. 

And I have not died. 

brad pitt excited

YESSSSSSSSS!

In the effort of full disclosure, I did think I was dying of heat exhaustion on Thursday, when Humidity Killed My Tempo Run, but I managed to survive somewhat unscathed. Dehydrated, dizzy, and nauseous, but alive.  Lesson learned. Relive the hot mess, HERE. Stay tuned for next week’s recap. Which actually may kill me. If it doesn’t, I plan on treating myself to a day at a spa, a magnum of champs and a goddamn superhero cape. I have no idea how I’m going to pull it off. Stay tuned, Poodles! But for now, let’s talk about Colby’s Week 10! 

Monday: Easy 6 Miles. This was the day after My Sunday Long Run. It sucked. My legs bitched and moaned the entire time. Like a Good Runner, I ignored them.  

 

Tuesday: Intervals.  3 x 1600m, 600m recovery. 3 mile warm up/cool down. If I thought Monday was awful, Tuesday was abysmal. It is here, Dear Reader, that a heat wave rolled it’s humid ass right on in. And stayed the whole week. It was like that annoying drunk friend who’s keys you’ve taken away. Now they’re just stuck on your couch, blathering away, when you just want to take your bra off and hit the goddamn hay. In other words, things shot straight to Hell. I ran those intervals. And promptly got nauseous. 

Wednesday: Well I’ll be damned. REST DAY. I wept. I did weep. Tears of Joy because one of my blog posts was featured on Ilovetorun.org!!! Read the original, HERE. They’re the eBib people! I was totally honored. Check out I ❀ to Run on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Pinterest. Best Rest Day EVER! YAHOO!  

 

Thursday: GAH. Tempo Run turned into 7 Mile Easy Run because humidity.   

Friday: Tempo Run Take Two! 8 miles at goal marathon pace. 2 mile warm up. 2 mile cool down. 12 Miles Total. Stick a fork in me. DONE. Holy Fatigue. 

Saturday: 10 Mile Easy Run. This was my punishment for flip flopping those runs. Legs felt like the last 6 of a marathon. THE WHOLE RUN. Then we hopped on our old cruisers, Carlos and Trixie, and explored a beatiful little park we had no idea existed a mere stone’s throw from where we live. I love an adventure. Oh. And 10 more miles on my whip.  

What a find!

  

Carlos and Trixie.

  

Right under our noses. Who knew?!

  

Rusty Gold.

 Sunday: 10 Mile Easy Run. Groundhog Day. Only my legs weren’t quite as pooped. I have no idea how that is possible, but I’ll take it! Then we took Leon James, Evil Beagle and Drunk Otis for a hike that ended with a swim. Because you know, I didn’t exercise enough this week. πŸ™‚ 

Hey, Lady. We goin’ swimmin’ or what? The Beagle is gettin’ restless.

  

Brothers.

 

  • Total Number of Miles Run: 52
  • Gallons of Sweat Lost: 4
  • Number of Sticks Eaten Whilst Fetching: 5

How do you fare in humid temps? Have you discovered a “Secret Spot” of your very own, right in your own backyard? How did we miss it?!? 

38 thoughts on “Running, Imploding and Realizing I Have Eight Weeks To Go!

  1. Congratulations on getting a post featured, that’s great! I loved the hilarity of Humidity Killed My Tempo Run, think I’ll give it another read. Also Drunk Otis’s face in that picture. He’s so unimpressed! I cannot wait to train for a marathon, are you following a specific plan?

    • Yes! I am following the Hansons Marathon Method. It’s grueling and slightly “unorthodox” in that there is no true classic Long Run. The longest you run is 16 instead of the classic 20+/- . Drunk Otis is a trip. Such an expressive face. He loves The Beagle. She’s not impressed with him! πŸ™‚

  2. Nice week! That training plan makes me tired just thinking about it. Humid weather saps allll my energy for pretty much everything, especially running. I feel like a heavy, wet blanket trying to drag myself around the streets! No fun.

  3. I’m not the drunk friend you are referring to on Tuesday, am I?

    Hate humidity.
    My secret spot is my closet, where I hide from the 3 stooges on long days.
    Commenting from train, apologies for brevity.
    Sitting next to guy who had the nerve to give me a dirty look when I asked if I could take seat next to him and it turns out it must be because I interrupted his obsessive playing of “candy crush saga.” Gee, I’m sorry! Did you purchase two seats? @@@

  4. Yay for being featured on ilovetorun! Congrats! I’m on week 11 of 18 of my training, and unfortunately, my taper is still a long way off (I don’t think I’ll be doing this program next time, but hey, at least now I know I don’t like it)… it doesn’t start until week 15! Congrats on finishing another hot week of running. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you! Taper? What taper? I swear I feel like mine is a mere speck on the horizon. Even then I think it’s not- Sit On My Ass And Eat Carbs. I think it’s slightly less. 😦 We’re getting there!!!!

  5. You absolutely crushed it! Beast mode. The humidity is no joke – think about how easy the marathon will feel when you’re not running through a cloud πŸ™‚

  6. Humidity can take itself and go &*^% off. I swear, if I don’t run any faster from actually training during the summer when it’s 80 degrees and 9999999999% humidity at freaking 5 am, then I need to just throw my shoes away. Not that I’m glad you’re dealing with it too, just nice to know I’m not just being a baby. Humidity can sober up now.

    • PREACH! I just no more than 5 minutes ago turned to my other half and said IF I’M NOT F&@$KING FAST AS SHIT COME FALL I’M QUITTING RUNNING ENTIRELY. Then I turned, flipped my drenched pony tail and hopped in an ice cold shower. This. Blows. You are not alone.

  7. I cannot even imagine running in high humidity. I live in a dry state and every time I travel to a humid one, I feel like I can’t breath πŸ™‚ That said, humidity does have a lot of plusses. I wouldn’t want to run in it though.

    • I envy you and your dry state! I shouldn’t complain too much. There have been some summers that have been simply unbearable. This one hasn’t been all that bad. That being said COME ON FALL!!! πŸ™‚

  8. UGH the humidity! I love summer, but does the air really need to be so soupy all the time!? Definitely a confidence killer. At least you got the miles in and were able to adjust your training schedule accordingly.
    Over half way done! Keep it up! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

