Baystate Marathon Pre-Cap

T-3 to Baystate and Colby and I are each in a our own state of chaos. Not about the race – just really crazy stuff going on for both of us. We are planning on buying some white flags and waving them. Wildly.

Thought I’d write one last post before this blog turns into “It’s a Bender AND a Nap (and a massage and a happy hour and a pedicure and whatever other forms of relaxation we find…”

Because we are TUCKERED.

Just gotta have enough gas in the tank to get through 26.2 and it’s officially rest time.

I don’t have a theme for this post, just some more ramblings before I start making a packing list…

I feel guilty because I have been so crabby about this race. I actually do care about races’ feelings, apparently. Such a loser.

So today on my run, I thought about how lucky I am to be running Baystate. I am healthy enough to run a marathon. It’s something I take for granted far too much. At the same time that Colby and I are running Baystate, there is a Breast Cancer walk in my town and I know several survivors and current patients who will be walking to raise funds and awareness. I am pretty damn lucky to be running a marathon for the heck of it on Sunday and I cannot let myself forget this. So my training was lame. Waaah, waah. I have a weekend away with my Bestie and get to see her kick butt in a race and see my family and enjoy the endorphin high of a marathon AND watch the Patriots while in Patriot Nation. I have NO complaints. None.

I like the vibe of the race already. As many of you know, Colby and I are matched with buddies through I Run 4 Michael.   I usually send the race director an e-mail ahead of time asking if I can have an extra medal or shirt for my buddy. I have always had a nice response to my requests, but I have never before received a reply from the actual director 20 minutes after my request telling me that it would be no problem and to come see him personally at the Expo. This is the smallest marathon I have run and I’m really liking the friendly and personal feel of it.

My 3 week old pair of shoes – On Cloudracers – got a hole in them last week (?!) so Road Runner Sports, with its amazing customer service, replaced them – overnight – but this means that I will be running in shoes on Sunday that have only been worn for around 26 miles so far. Not exactly broken in, but what can I do. It’s par for the course for this one, I tell you. I’m like a broken down barnacle barge. FYI, if anyone is looking into these shoes, Road Runner Sports said that this has not happened to other customers, and probably was a freak thing and not a problem with the make or model.

I’m sure everyone has been dying to know which new songs I ended up adding to my playlist after my request for suggestions. Sorry to leave you all in pained suspense. I added “Living Loving Maid” and “Land of 1000 Dances” because I have watched my 14 year old son play these in gigs recently (“killing” them, if I do say so). I added “Riptide” and “Want to Want Me” because my 12 year old daughter lays on her bed and listens to them just like I would have done if they came out in 1981. And I added “Sugar” by Maroon 5 because it’s my 10 year old’s current favorite karaoke song and I therefore have heard it so much it is already playing in my head all the time anyway. I figure that even if none of them puts a spring in my step, they will at least put a smile on my face since they remind me of my 3 stooges. I also plan to steal add some of the songs from Jessica @ Fit Talker’s spotify list – thank you, thank you, thank you!  What a great list!

You all undoubtedly have also been on the edge of your seats waiting to hear how I will fuel for this bad boy.  Winner Winner Chicken Dinner goes to Honey Stinger Fruit Smoothie Energy Gel. Tried before a run the other day when I already had a rough stomach and it felt great. Phew.

It’s definitely time for taper to end because I have been cleaning like a fiend and throwing so many things out that I’m afraid I might toss one of my kids by accident.

Weather forecast looks good for Sunday. Cold – low of 26, high of 48, and partly cloudy. We are thrilled. Fingers crossed that it doesn’t change!

I think that is all I got. Well, I got plenty more, but I’ve got miles to go before I sleep (figuratively) and have to make my list!

Does everyone get monkey mind like this in the days leading up to race day?  I feel like my brain is an LP playing at 78 rpm…

…and if you are too young to get this reference, please do not tell me.

24 thoughts on “Baystate Marathon Pre-Cap

  1. YES! I’m going to Baystate too. Many little annoyances, snafus trying to snag at me, plus work got quite busy. Only just finished packing and having dinner 2h late, now need to wind down and snack before bed. In 12h the cab comes to whisk me to the airport. How did it suddenly become NOW? 😉

    Have a great race, both of you!

    • Totally understandable on the songs! The 3 from my 2 youngest were on constant play on radio over the summer, so you probably know them even if you don’t recognize the titles. Living Loving Maid is a Led Zep song that you would probably recognize. Land of 1000 dances is a bona fide oldie and you are absolutely excused for not knowing it. 🙂
      Thanks for the wishes of luck!!!

  2. Some people don’t even know who the Backstreet Boys were. It kills me. I think you are dealing with overtired brain syndrome, which is curable only by also exhausting your body with a marathon and then all the beer and rest. Oh! and my running partner from last Sunday had the On’s on!
    GOOD LUCK POODLES

  3. While the rambling brain that won’t shut up might be annoying, you are in the exact right place right now! You did the work. You tired out your body. You tired out your mind. Now focus on hydrating, fueling, and RESTING! Love the Frost reference. I ran the Shires of VT Marathon in Bennington and went to visit his grave before the race – I felt like it was kind of fitting!

    I don’t know why, but reading your post about the race and about your monkey brain left this quote in my head: “You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself any direction you choose. You’re on your own. And you know what you know. And YOU are the one who’ll decide where to go…” Go light it up!!!!

  4. Sweet. Lord. This week has WORN ME OUT. We’re almost there T-Bone. Beer and laughter to follow!!!!!!

    Sorry so brief. I have a timer beeping, a brow wax appointment, an eye doctor appointment, a vet appointment and need to pee.

    Calgon?

  5. good luck, ladies!! have such a blast. love the reminder that you are healthy enough to run a marathon — that’s actually my running mantra and how i choose to always keep myself motivated when i’m feeling worn out or defeated. also love the Frost reference, AND my fuel choice for my marathon on Sunday was also the fruit smoothie honey stingers. fail proof. 🙂 enjoy!!

  6. Have a great race. I’ve run it twice. Some people don’t like the double loop but your friends/family can see you twice and hopefully give you something good to eat!
    I might be on the bridge where you turn for the 2nd loop. Maybe.
    Andy

    • We will look for you! I don’t mind the idea of a double loop. I also am someone who has no problem running 6 miles on a track, so there you have it. The weather looks great and we couldn’t be happier!!

  7. Pingback: Two More Sleeps, Two Bad Eyes and One Stuck Sock | It's A Marathon AND A Sprint

Leave a Reply

