The Party is Over.

Monday The proverbial party is over, Poodles. It’s the first Monday of 2016. I drank a coffee that was the size of a baby elephant this morning and it barely made a dent. It’s back to work. Back to the grind. Back to real pants. I am happy to report that said pants are neither tight nor busting at the seams, however, my Check Liver light is flashing. That can’t be good. I feel a 3-day juice cleanse in my very near future. Read: As soon as I get to the Fresh Market and buy ALL THE VEGETABLES. Vegetables? Do I eat them neat? Or on the rocks? Gah. Get your shit together, Colby.brandi-glanville-drinking-green-shit1

I have been off for the past, glorious week. What a much needed, relaxing way to send out 2015. Boy, did I need a break. As is always the case, work ramps up to warp speed in the months leading to the end of the year. It becomes a QUICK! DO EVERY EXPERIMENT! Right NOW! No WAIT…LAST WEEK! Ah the life of a scientist. It’s ALWAYS the case. New deadlines seem to pop out of the cold, tired air every hour. It makes a stressful time of the year even more so. The down time was a welcome respite.

Besides bingeing on Scandal on Netflix, I put in some solid days of running both with and without Drunk Otis, racking up a nice hefty tally of miles on the road and on trails. Squeeeee! As a side note: Does anyone else out there despise Olivia Pope’s mouth as much as I do? It might need it’s own Twitter account. Something about the way she moves her face.  Or the fact that she speaks on the exhale? I can’t quite put my finger on it. But it drove me to drink delicious IPAs and eat bowls of hummus for DAYS. Too much Olivia Pope at once. I think I od’d on The Pope. Girlfriend has some sweet coats though. Not for nothing, I’d take that Prada bag off her hands in a heart beat. But back to running…its handled

I received an incredibly thoughtful training journal from my girl, Carly for Christmas. I cracked that bitch open between bowls of hummus and episodes of Scandal last week. It’s AWESOME. It’s the Believe Training Journal by professional runners, Lauren Fleshman and Roisin McGettigan-Dumas. It’s an undated year-long workbook of sorts, geared toward women runners. It’s actually more than that. It’s got photographs, advice inspiration and tips from the pros. It’s inspiriting and motivating all at once. I’m digging it. It’s cute too. I have the red one. And I’ve begun journaling! Old School. Like with ink and paper. I love it. Thanks, Carly!

beleve training journal

The Believe Training Journal. Love. It.

The Journal is also motivating me to shop around for races this year and set some goals. I’m high on races, but low on goals. I feel like nothing can top 2015s Epic-ness. What’s after a BQ?  So, I’m goal shopping. One of which is to run more trail races this year and perhaps, JUST PERHAPS, run another Ultra. Yup. I said it.  I skimped on trail running last year. And I missed it. I did do several fantastic races in the spring which I loved and am planning on doing again, but as far as straight up trail runs, I was lacking. After running trails this week, I realized two things:

  1. I missed it.
  2. The only way to get better at trail running is to run trails. Period. The End.

I have found that nothing simulates trail running, like trail running. So that’s where you’ll find me. In the dirt. On my ass. On the trails with my giant chocolate mess of a friend, Drunk Otis.

But first, Monday. And another baby elephant sized coffee, please.

IMG_5054

Let’s hope my second cup comes with a rainbow!

What are your goals for 2016? Do you use a traditional old-school journal? Top Netflix binges. GO!

43 thoughts on “The Party is Over.

  1. Totally agree about Olivia’s mouth and coats! GIVE ME ALL HER COATS (and space to store them plz, thanks). Goal = no running injuries, and maybe you’ve got me thinking about taking up trail running. Netflix binge of late has been Homeland. I need to catch up on Scandal!

  2. I’ve always felt that way about Kerry Washington’s mouth (I didn’t use her character name b/c I’ve never watch her show, lol!)

    I was pretty close to buying that journal–wish I had now of course–and I totally old school write using pencil ❤

    You had such an amazing 2015. SO pumped to follow your 2016 journey ❤

  3. I have a traditional old school journal, but that’s for personal journalling that I don’t want on the internet 😉
    I also binge watch shows on Netflix… most recently (it’s been a while since I had that kind of time) Gilmore Girls and Daredevil.
    Urgh, I get what you mean about returning to reality… I have to do that next week. But! There’s a lot of fun in starting off the year motivated. 🙂 Your journal sounds great, and the plans in the making for an ultra… awesome!

  4. I don’t think I ever really focused on her mouth before- now I can’t unsee it! But yes, all of her coats please. I needed a coffee and a soda this morning- starting the year off sick was not in the plans. I have the Believe journal but I’ve already fallen behind in journaling and I only started it last week!

    • Oh no! I’m sorry Fallon! I can’t Unsee it either. Her coats are on point. That’s for sure. I’m loving the journal! I keep it by my bed and jot stuff down before I snooze and dream of Scandal. My coffee consumption was off the charts yesterday. #wired

  5. YESSSSSSSSSSS, Olivia Pope’s mouth drives me crazy too!! lol!!

    I used that journal for the first time last year and LUUUUUUUUUUUUUUVED it. I have the lavender coloured one for this year! 🙂

    • Honestly. I’ve never watched anything with Kerry Washington in it before, let alone watched her OBSESSIVELY. The glassy eyes deserve a mention too. But the mouth. I swear. That shit has a life of it’s own. You used the journal last year?!?!? So cool! I’m loving it! What a great gift for the runner in your life. 🙂

      • Yes, I hadn’t been able to label what it was that drove me nuts and while there’s lots (lol), the mouth is a front runner. She was in Django Unchained I think…but, well, that movie has a whole lot of other disturbing stuff going on that her mouth is the least of the problems!! Yup, you’re going to love the journal – allows you to take control, set goals and evaluate…but in a gentle way. 🙂

      • Oh right! I haven’t seen that movie. My Other Half and I were watching and it both hit us- THE MOUTH! That’s it! I swear it should have it’s own Twitter. 😉

  6. I’m right there with you on the eating! I returned to work at least 4 pounds heavier, all made up of cookies around my waist. Oh well, that’s what the holidays are for. We just cleaned out the last of the holiday treats a few days ago, so it’s time to get back to eating “normal” stuff again. But it sure was fun while it lasted 🙂 🙂

  7. 1. You’re welcome! Mine is on its way. Obviously. Went with the charcoal, we will have to compare 🙂 2. Researching trail ultras. will send you a trail calendar soon. Probably a color coded google document with turn by turn directions to each start and a grading score. Because that’ show I roll. XOXO!!! Cheers to a fabulous 2016.

Leave a Reply

