Climbing into your Comfort Zone

Everyone talks about moving out of your comfort zone. After all, that is where the magic happens. Right? RIGHT?

No one seems to cover those times when you need to crawl back into your comfort zone and chill for a while. Maybe even a long while. When you are way too tired to be looking for magic.

Well, I’m gonna.

Sometimes life hands you challenges…your adrenaline is flying, you’re on edge, you are existing on fumes, caffeine and raw nerves…and you haven’t seen anything resembling a “comfort zone” in months. So if you happen to catch sight of it? The LAST thing you need is to climb out of the darn thing.

Haven’t posted in a while. My husband had a pretty serious surgery in December to remove a tumor in his salivary gland, which took multiple ultrasounds, pre-surgical biopsies, bloodwork, the surgery and even multiple post-surgical biopsies to determine was benign.

Benign. Possibly the most beautiful word in the English language.

The whole ordeal, which took several months from start to final diagnosis, plus additional time for him to recover from surgery, was, ahem, draining. I was TAPPED OUT.

I read a lot of women’s magazines, etc. while sitting in waiting rooms, and noticed that everything was telling me to get me out of my comfort zone. Screw that. My comfort zone is a distant memory. I realized I needed to rediscover my comfort zone. And that is exactly what I did.

Books upon books upon books? Sure thing. Snowshoe races? Not this year. Put off everything on my to-do list while I do the Sunday NY Times crossword? You bet. Sign up for new kinds of race challenges? No f-ing way. Not now.  Make a fire as many nights as possible and plunk my butt down in front of it? Absolutely. Try “Intensity,” “TRX” and “HIIT Triple Threat” classes at my new gym? Ummm…No, No and No. I have mostly stuck to tried-and-true spinning when I can’t run. Binge watch The Office starting at Season 1 with my two oldest? Absolutely.

It’s one thing when you are bored, complacent and in a rut. THEN, you should do something to move out of your comfort zone. But when life throws you so far out of your comfort zone that you can barely find it? Love yourself enough to put the challenges and goals aside, and find a way to crawl back in. Stay as long as you need. Eventually, it, too, will pass.

Anyone else feel the need to “cocoon” lately? What do you do when you need to climb into your comfort zone?

12 thoughts on “Climbing into your Comfort Zone

  1. I love my comfort zone. The body can only handle so much stress before our health starts to deteriorate precipitously, whether it comes for too much HIITs or from one of life’s curveballs, so always ensure you have a buffer. Good luck to you and your family! x

  2. There’s my Girl.

    I can’t begin to tell you the joy I just felt waking up and seeing a post from you on our blog. Your comfort zone needed you. DESPERATELY. Hunker down in your cocoon for a bit more.

    Spring is coming. Xoxo

    Xoxo

  3. I would say you’ve been out of your comfort zone all the while, honestly. And when you’re dealing with something difficult, making the other things very normal and “easy” is exactly where you need to be. Great job taking care of yourself!! So glad hubs is ok too. ❤

  4. I love that word benign too. So glad you heard that but hugs for the tough time you and husband have had xxx Comfort zone or perhaps just some sooth sailing where everything is nicely routine with no big storms or waves. You deserve some time feeling safe xxx

Leave a Reply

