The 411.

And just like that… 

The Birthday Girl.


…Another year older.

*sigh*

Today is my birthday. So I decided to wipe the dust off of our horribly neglected blog before somebody calls DCF and carts my ass off to WordPress Jail for blog abuse! This always winds up happening in times of stress. I get all angst. I don’t sleep. I run like being chased. And my blogging falls promptly in the can. Which is sad. Because I love this Little Damn Blog. More on My Angst later. Promise. 

I’m not stressed about turning another year older. Aging is a gift. Fine lines and all. Tina and I addressed the fine lines last weekend when we checked our tuckered selves in to our favorite spa for a nice long weekend. It was heaven. We came in pieces. But we left whole. There is nothing like spending time with your best friend. Catching up. Laughing. Drinking. Napping. Ranting. Raving, Relaxing…and did I say, Drinking?  T-Bones and I needed a little bit of down time, to pull out the pony tails, shake our tired locks and reboot. I am so thankful for our friendship. Words don’t even do it justice. I think I am realizing just how valuable friendships are as the years amble on along.  I wouldn’t trade time spent with friends for anything in the world. It’s priceless. We are lucky to have found each other.

I always get reflective on my birthday. This one isn’t A Big One. It’s 44. I don’t feel 44. And after last weekend’s spacation , I don’t look 44. I now appear younger, and visibly firmer. Certainly not 44. I remember when my Mom was 44. I thought: Meh. She’s not that old. And here I am. Not that old. 

I was googling around the internets this morning, looking at the significance of the number 44. While I’m not one to follow numerology, I did stumble across a version of its significance. The number 44 is about business- building a business with staying power. Efficient, conscientious business building. Which is appropriate because I am in the business of building a better Colby. Colby version 44, if you will. The number 44 builds for The Now and for The Future. It wants rewards for its work, and wants to have a positive effect on the future. Simple. And true. 

According to the internets, the number 44 is realistic, pragmatic, efficient, disciplined and confident. It is conscientious, balanced, and methodical with a focus on what it wants to accomplish. 

It’s also Hank Aaron’s number, a cough suppressant and a song by Jay-Z. But I digress….

Conscientious. Balanced. And Focused.

I’ll take it. ๐Ÿ™‚

40 thoughts on “The 411.

  1. Happy birthday!!! Mine is tomorrow and I’m going to be 47! Ack! It’s all good tho. And my blog also neglected since I’ve been injured (Achilles) and not running!

  2. Happy birthday! glad you’re back.
    And I take more significance in being an Aries (like me!) than the number 44.
    Cool idea of building, though.
    Hope you’re using this “excuse” to do something fun ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Hey, at least you know if you get jailed for blog neglect, I’ll be in the clink with you if I’m not already there. No sweat, my Pet. C can bail us out.
    I miss that weekend. And you. So grateful for our friendship. Name one other person I can text and ask if they want to run (west) on Comm Ave and meet me running (east) on Comm Ave on Monday morning around 6 AM AND KNOW THEY WILL SAY YES???!! (Or YAAAAS, in your case.)
    You’re one in a million, and I love you to pieces. xxxooT

Leave a Reply

