And so it begins…

Boston Marathon training officially kicks off this week, Poodles! {Cue hysteria.} Week 1 of 18. I am stoked beyond words. Fasten your 5-point harness. I’m blogging this magical journey! And I’m apologizing in advance for the profanities, saltiness and utter ridiculousness of my upcoming posts. I’m keeping it real. I’m going to be exhausted, discouraged, elated and thrilled all at once. Bear with me. That’s the Joy that is Hanson’s Marathon Method. 

I got to this point in my running with Hansons Method, qualifying for Boston at Baystate Marathon with the run of my life (HERE). I can’t quit you, Hansons.  Not now. There’s still work to be done. There’s a level of accountability that comes with blogging which far surpasses me blathering on about running to my poor friends and Drunk Otis. Christ, my mother doesn’t even like to DRIVE 26.2 miles, let alone run them or even hear about me running them. Accountability, Friends. I need it. And these posts are providing it. Like it or not, it’s gonna be a long sweaty frozen road. I’ve got a goal.  

My marathon goal is 3:45.  

There.  I said it. 3:45. And although my heart just felt like it fell out of my chest, It’s ON. I’m ready to give this everything I’ve got. A friend recently gave me some sage advice.

Train for Boston as if you never know when it will happen again

-Running Yoda

That’s sticking with me. Like Gorilla Glue. 

Today wasn’t officially a training run. That insanity starts on Wednesday. Why Hump Day? No clue. All I know is that today I ran 5 miles on the god forsaken treadmill. I sweated to death, came home, peeled my tights off to hop in the shower and found two dryer sheets stuck to my ass. 

And here we go…

Ermahgerd is right. Let the games begin. πŸ˜„

Do you find it helpful to blog or journal about your training?  What’s your 2017 Running Goal? Have you ever left the house covered in dryer sheets? 

23 thoughts on “And so it begins…

  1. eeeeeeep!!!!! I’m so excited for you and I’m not even training for Boston!!!

    I like blogging about my training because it helps me reflect on the process. My 2017 goal?? a 3:45 like you!!!! I just need you to do it first for me πŸ˜‰

    • Oh but you will be, Rabbit. You’ve found your groove!!!! That’s not going to be a problem for you, Ms. Zippy. I’ve been doing my strength training and core work like we talked about! Now, it’s go time!!!! I’m channeling you…… Xoxo

  2. Boston?!?! So jealous!
    Blogging helps me to look back on how far I’ve come and where I can improve. I also like to see what other runners’ comments are…it’s all a big learning process!

    In terms of a 2017 goal, I’m signing up for my first half, so I guess the goal there is to not die!

    • I’m totally with you. Reliving the journey is the best damn part. HOORAY FOR YOUR HALF!!! And I truly believe that you will NOT die. Which one? When does training start?!? Such good stuff. πŸ™‚

  3. Considering it would take me about 3.45 days to finish Boston, I think you have this in the bag. Or maybe half in the bag to attempt it? Or you need to breathe into a bag? Whatevs sistah, this is the proverbial piece of cake for you.

    Hmmmm, now I want cake.

    Right after I clean up the mochaccino I just spewed all over my desk due to dryer sheet shenanigans. At least you didn’t step on the treadmill with dog poop on your shoes. #glasshalffull

  4. Aah I’m SO EXCITED! Welcome back to the blogosphere Colby! Cannot wait for your realness. Although your training logs always get me excited to do my own race, but I’ve been given a very strict talking to by my running club president- no marathons for me this season! So I’ll watch from the sidelines…! x

  5. Good luck on all your training! I love your excitement. πŸ™‚ I do find it extremely helpful to blog about the journey to these marathons. Every like and comment makes you feel that people are supporting you and God knows we all need it as runners. At least, I definitely do. Haha Running without support is the worst.

  6. Props to you, Colby. If staring down 18 wks of hard core marathon training doesn’t fill you with the fear of God then you aren’t doing it right. You sound like you totally know what’s ahead of you, and like they say, knowing is half the battle. They say that, right? Anyway you got this girl. We’re with you. Just remember to want it more than you hate it.

    • A THOUSAND HUGS!!! Thank you so much for the vote of confidence and encouragement. I do know what’s in store, and I also know how damn uncomfortable I’m going to get. But as you so succinctly stated it- I want it a WHOLE HELL OF A LOT MORE! Muahhhh!

  7. Woohoo! I look forward to reading all about your training. I can proudly say that I ran the entire Boston Marathon, even up those hills. Not my best time, but not my worst πŸ™‚ And it was a rainy day, so another star for me (I hate running in the cold rain!!). It’s so exciting to start a new training cycle. It’s like opening a gift – which will hopefully pay off with a goal met at the end!
    btw, the jacket color looks pretty awesome! Better than my 2015 purple.

Leave a Reply

