Weekly Running Recap: 10 Weeks of Hansons!

I’m runnin’ down the back side to Boston, Poodles! How bah dah? Ten weeks of training with Hansons Marathon Method down, 8 weeks to go. I have officially turned the page. I am also officially pretty damn tired. That may have had more to do with the sinus and double ear infections I was diagnosed with last week, but there you go. What a mess. (Note: The next time you are seated next to a screaming crying baby on a plane who is tugging her little ears, cut Baby Girl some slack. Ear infections suck. Like, bad. #IFeelYouBabyGirl) If we can recall from last week’s training recap, I was feeling super under the weather. In fact I trimmed my freezing cold snowy run down from 15 miles to 10 last week because I could neither stop coughing nor hear a goddamn thing. Broken rib or chiseled abs? It was a coughing toss up. Despite my affliction, I still managed to get in a solid week of running whilst on antibiotics. I know. I don’t reccommend it. But here’s how it went.

Monday: Elliptical, 45 mintues. Woke up. Dragged my coughing, clogged head to the gym. Attempted to run. No bueno. My teeth felt like they were falling out. Ellipticaled instead. Dumb? YES. However, I did leave the gym and march directly into my doctor’s office. I left with multiple prescriptions, double ear infections and a sinus infection for good measure. I haven’t had an ear infection since I was 4 years old. I’ll take kid diseases for $400, Alex. That seems to be the thing with me lately. Kid diseases. *sigh*phoebe

Tuesday: Easy Run. 3 miles. 9:05 pace. Why? Because although I couldn’t hear, I felt better. Should I have stayed home in my comfy lil’ fleece nest cuddling with Drunk Otis and My Other Half on Valentine’s Day? Yes. But I couldn’t. Because Boston. I’m training. And I’m a stubborn Italian who can NOT sit still if she’s feeling better. Somewhere Little Gram is smacking me upside my head. With a dish towel.

Wednesday: Intervals, 3 x 1600, 600m recovery, 7:25 pace. 7 miles total. Holy torrent of snot. Seriously. I have never had such a runny nose in my life. I thought my nose was going to fall off Walking Dead style. Ugly. I was an ugly mess. But it was done.

img_8543

Not bad for a stop light sunset.

Thursday: Easy Run. 7 miles total, 9:15 pace. Less snot. Less coughing. More antibioitics. Not bad, Colby.

Friday: Tempo Run. 8 miles at marathon pace, 8:35. 10 miles total. YAHOOOOOO! What a difference meds make! Felt good. I honestly did. And as my Tempo Run Reward. THIS. Behold! The elusive Pliny the Elder! Cheers! And cheers again. Pliny, the beer equivalent of finding an East Coast Unicorn, did not disappoint. De-lish.

img_8573

Oh, Hey Pliny!

Saturday: Easy Run. 8 miles total. 9:15 pace.  For me, the run following the tempo run is the worst. My legs are usually half dead. Which is why I have taken to rolling the hell out of them which helps tremendously. What a gogeous day! It was spring like! Gone was the snot and much of the snow. Nothing but mild temps and a new dope running hat from Janji by Ciele Athletics. That’s a collaboration made in heaven. Hat on point!img_8587

Sunday: Long Run. 15 miles total. 9:28 pace. As promised, this was my do-over run from the previous week. The last 3 miles were a bit of a struggle but it was so nice out and there were so many birds chriping that it didn’t even matter to me. Happy Sunday!

I must admit, considering how the week started and knowing how much I despise having to juggle around my schedule, I was pretty damn proud of myself. The week ended on a high note. Of that I am certain. It’s getting closer by the mile. And I’m so excited I can scream. I’m feeling like my substance runs (Intervals and Tempo Run) are really coming together. Next week my Intervals switch from speed to strength which is a BEAST for me. It’s at a slightly slower clip than speed intervals, but with more total miles. The goal now that I am no longer infectious, is to stay that way. To sound sleeps, rolled muscles and healthy weeks ahead!

  • Total number of miles run: 50 miles
  • Number of minutes spent on an Elliptical feeling like a zombie under water: 45 minutes
  • Boxes of Kleenex used: 4. I am not kidding. FOUR BOXES. 

Do you do stupid things like run while on antibiotics or drink tough to obtain IPAs while taking them?  When is the last time you had an ear infection? How has the weather been in your neighborhood? 

img_8537

Drunk Otis, Editor.

19 thoughts on “Weekly Running Recap: 10 Weeks of Hansons!

  1. Wait, are you the same person freaking out about a bad workout a few weeks ago? You rocked this week and those workouts! And you were sick as …
    I’d be proud of myself if I were you! This is a great page to take with you to Boston. Cool beans.

  2. Let’s see… Yes, definitely no, cripes I can’t remember the last time I had an ear infection! 35 years ago… ish?! And it’s been great but I’ve been too busy to get out in it!

    Phew!

  3. Love your weekly recaps…except that they are a week ahead of me and give me a preview of what to expect next week, minus the infections and all that stuff…this training is freakin’ tough, i my 8 tempo tonight on the mill, talk about mental torture…but doing this sick, no way! Way to go, cheers…it’s IPA time tomorrow.

    • MENTAL TORTURE. And believe me. I’ve run a few of them on the damn mill. It’s the pits. But. If we can get through that- mental toughness- we can damn near do anything!!! And yes. Please. Minus the ear infections. That was worse than a Tempo Treadmill Run!! I hope it went well last night!! IPA well deserved!!! xo

  4. I’ve run with a chest cold many times. Never on antibiotics as I never go to the doctor for a cold, but probably should.
    Right now I’m on vacation in ft Meyers and cannot conceive of coldness and marathon training!

  5. Pingback: Weekly Training Recap: Highs and lows notwithstanding, I’m coming for you Boston!  | It's A Marathon AND A Sprint

Leave a Reply

