My Bike Fights Cancer

This is my bike.

20130707-215510.jpg

Meet Henrietta Pussycat, my Jamis Xenith Elite. She fights cancer. Pretty badass right?

Sweet right?
She fights cancer.
Like a champ.

I’ve been riding in the Pan Massachusetts Challenge for 9 years. If you want to gain perspective, be humbled, and feel like you’re a part of something wonderful, ride in it.

I dare you.

20130707-220641.jpg

Why I ride.

You will be forever changed. I know I am. What you learn as you’re pedaling 193 miles in 2 days in support of cancer research, is that everyone rides for a reason. Some have more reasons than others. Some are Living Proof that cancer research is making strides. Serious strides. I like to think we’re helping, in some small way. My reason has not changed in 9 years, although the list of family and friends riding along with me, sadly, has. Friends and family I have lost, will ride along with me, as they have every year. Every pedal stroke, powered by their memory, their lives, their valiant fight. It makes my heart heavy just thinking about it.

I ride because I can.
I ride for those who can not.
It’s simple really…

This year Tina is riding in the PMC. I couldn’t be happier. I love that she’s been blogging about her “reasons”- her husband Chris, her mother Lily, and her cousin Rick. She’s fabulous that Tina. I can’t wait for her to experience the weekend.

The overall PMC Experience dwarfs the athletic accomplishment. Hard to believe, but true. Riding 193 miles is NOTHING compared to what a cancer patient endures. (Seriously? It’s nothing. Lets be honest.) PMC weekend? You see the best of people. You feel like you’re a part of something bigger and far greater than you. And I think we ALL need that from time to time. Especially today. We need to be humbled. We need to be self-less. We need to gain perspective. Not always, but sometimes. I am so looking forward to Tina’s First PMC Experience. Maybe even more so than she is.

So our ride…

Tina and I did a nice, long, hazyhothumid training ride yesterday. Together. (Finally!) She did great! Totally great. And I would expect nothing less from her, tough wispy thing that she is. We covered 51 miles spanning rolling farmlands to the sweet salty sea. It was terrific riding and chit chatting along the way. (If you follow our blog, You know Us- we love a good chit-chat. Although we would have preferred cocktails to Gatorade, we did manage an iced coffee at mile 30.) She even caught a glimpse of The Angry Walker who was, shock of all shocks, angry. He’s a legend. It was a great time and a great ride. The miles ticked away. Just two friends on bikes. Beautiful. This time next month we’ll be on a beach in Cape Cod, drinking ice cold beer, toasting to Tina’s First PMC and recalling those 193 miles ridden for something bigger than ourselves. I simply can’t wait.

I love cycling. I mean really love cycling. (Earmuffs Newton’s!! I swear my sneakers just gave my bike the finger. ) It’s funny because I haven’t really blogged about it much. That’s really odd now that I think about it. I think of myself as a cyclist more than a runner, but alas, I am Colby. I am both. There is just something about being on a bike. It’s powerful. So very powerful. Especially when your bike fights cancer.

If you would like to support us in our fundraising goals please, do so. Every dollar donated helps. Every single. 100% of donations go directly to the Dana Farber Cancer Institute. Awesome right? We hate cancer. And we have a long way to go. There’s a lot riding on this.

To donate to Tina: http://www2.pmc.org/profile/TC0204
To donate to Colby: http://www2.pmc.org/profile/NB0049

20130707-214920.jpg

Shades of Green.

20130707-214913.jpg

A Beautiful View.

20130707-214934.jpg

Go Tina! Go! Tina and Trixie enjoying the flats. And the extreme heat. No clouds for miles…

20130707-214948.jpg

Henrietta and Colby.

20130707-215011.jpg

Ride Colby! Ride!

20130707-215224.jpg

Your sweaty, happy, cycling Bloggers! That’s us!

11 thoughts on “My Bike Fights Cancer

    • It sure is on both accounts! I’m lucky to live in such a beautiful area- and I didn’t even take photos of the shoreline on our ride. That’s really beautiful. Especially in the early morning. As for the Pan Mass Challenge, I am proud to be a part of it. It’s an amazing experience. Thanks for stopping by! πŸ™‚

  1. Henrietta Pussycat is NOT to be reckoned with! Of course she is up for fighting cancer. Thanks for a great ride and for helping me get ready for THE Ride. Cannot wait.

    • Laughing! I love it! It’s a great bike. Zippy little thing. And thank you! You’d be surprised at what you could do. The majority of people who ride are regular non- Tour de France types. They’re just people on a mission- a passionate one. πŸ™‚

  2. Awesome friends and great cause! We definitely need to have that feeling of selflessness in our lives every now and then, it is what makes life enjoyable. Looking forward to Tina’s recap next month!

Leave a Reply

