Summer Ride – In Pictures

I feel like a blogger delinquent. Yeesh. I can’t believe that I haven’t posted in over a week. I think it has something to do with the quality family time I have been spending with my kids in the car while I chauffeur them to various activities. That accounts for much of my days this summer, although I have been lucky to log some decent time at the beach and pool, too. And as much as I love to write, I’m not bringing my laptop to the beach or the pool. A line must be drawn somewhere. Bad, bad blogger.

I have been running and riding, though, and have a long training ride to report on when I have some uninterrupted time at the computer – maybe this weekend.

In the meantime, I thought I would share some pictures I took on a beautiful ride I took one morning last week. Like many East Coast-ers, I have been in weather misery this week. Going through these pictures and recalling my ride reminded me that despite the recent oppressive heat, the ridiculous humidity, & the relentless bugs, I really do love summer. Especially here. At 6 AM.

Approaching the beach. It's around 6 AM here; my favorite time of day - anywhere, but especially at the beach.

Approaching the beach. It’s around 6 AM here; my favorite time of day – anywhere, but especially at the beach.

I round the bend, and there it is - the beach.  Aaah.

I round the bend, and there it is – the beach. Aaah.

The beach - all to myself. Heaven. The dark line across the water is Long Island.

The beach – all to myself. Heaven. The dark line across the water is Long Island.

One of our town marinas. Our boat is in there somewhere.

One of our town marinas. Our boat is in there somewhere.

The "Minuteman Statue," which reminds us that the bucolic beach featured in the pictures above was the site of a Revolutionary War invasion by British troops.

The “Minuteman Statue,” which reminds us that the bucolic beach featured in the pictures above was the site of a Revolutionary War invasion by British troops.

Our Main Street. Some love it, many criticize it for having too many chain stores. I still prefer it to no Main Street at all!! Plus, it has a Lululemon, so I am assured of periodic visits from Colby.

Our Main Street. Some love it, many criticize it for having too many chain stores. I still prefer it to no Main Street at all!! Plus, it has a Lululemon, so I am assured of periodic visits from Colby.

One of the many small farms in my 'hood.

One of the many small farms in my ‘hood.

My favorite small farm. The tented table at the back of the driveway holds freshly harvested vegetables, price signs, a scale and a coffee can to put your money in. Sometimes Farmer John is out there, but usually it is just the honor system! Best tomatoes in town.

My favorite small farm. The tented table at the back of the driveway holds freshly harvested vegetables, price signs, a scale and a coffee can to put your money in. Sometimes Farmer John is out there, but usually it is just the honor system! Best tomatoes in town.

Stables near my house. My daughter would love to take riding lessons there. And if they ever invent a 48 hour day, a 9 day week or can clone me, I will consider it.

Stables near my house. My daughter would love to take riding lessons there. And if they ever invent a 48 hour day, a 9 day week or can clone me, I will consider it.

My welcome wagon. Tom Turkey greeted me in my yard when I returned home. Not very nicely, either, I might add.  Not the most pleasant animals.

My welcome wagon. Tom Turkey greeted me in my yard when I returned home. Not very nicely, either, I might add. Not the most pleasant animals.

Two weeks from today, Colby and I will be heading up to Sturbridge for the beginning of the PMC weekend. Can’t wait, but I have many miles to ride before we get there….

One thought on “Summer Ride – In Pictures

Leave a Reply

