The Top 25 Moments on Heartbreak Hill

Elite Feet.

We came. We cheered. We lost our shit.  That pretty much sums up our 2014 Boston Marathon Experience.

We Cheered Boston. And I’ve gotta tell ya. It was EPIC! To be on the sidelines at the CREST OF HEARTBREAK HILL, cheering our guts out on a picture perfect day? Fanfuckingtastic I tell ya! What a day!  What a race!  Although I would have given my front two teeth to have run it (and I’ve got some big ass front chompers), being on the sidelines did not disappoint.

Such a different experience watching a marathon after running a bunch of ’em. Such respect I have. Even more now, than before. Each and every runner- from Meb and the Elites to the wheelchair athletes to those running with guides to the moms and the dads to the Middle of the Packers to the charity runners to the very last person to cross- I have such respect. Every single one of those runners ran the same 26.2 miles.They covered the exact same distance. They pulled themselves up the Newton HIlls. They turned onto Boylston and crossed that line. Each and every person ran their own marathon on Monday. With one single goal- Finishing. The following are pictures I took on Heartbreak Hill. They are what happens when good conquers bad. When light overcomes dark. When the human spirit triumphs. They aren’t Boston Strong for nothin’.

Go Mom!

Go Mom, Go!

For Here All Are One

#truth

Bill Rodgers!

Holy Mr. Marathon! Bill Rodgers in the flesh!

The Women's Wheelchair Leader

The Female Wheelchair Leader

Grit.

1143

Heartbreak Hill and still smiling.

1548

Hmmmm. Who’s sign is that???

1516

Viva Les Crocs! (Yes. Crocs.)

1499

Boston Strong since 1981. Rick and Dick Hoyt. (Cue hysteria!)

1422

Elation!

1410

Get it, Mom!

1400

High fives by the dozen!

1376

U-S of A.

1349

Wonder Woman!

1342

Can’t stop….

1338

Won’t stop.

1325

The Message of the Day

The Female Elite!

1163

Shalane seconds behind the lead pack.

1233

MEB! Sailing past. SAILING.

1247

The Chase.

1292

Of all of the runners I saw crest Heartbreak HIll, this runner, Juli, will stay in my mind for a long, long time. I have never seen such determination in my life. Grit. Strength. Resolve. That was her. All 3 foot 6 inches of her. She’s amazing.

No Stopping Monday. Or Any Day.

18 thoughts on “The Top 25 Moments on Heartbreak Hill

    • For a little person who is prone to joint and skeletal issues to run a marathon is nothing short of amazing. It’s like she ran two marathons. And let me tell you, she was flying when I saw her with a look on her face I will never forget. The picture doesn’t do her justice. Thank you for the kind words. It was a fantastic day! 🙂

  1. So wonderful!! I was near wonder woman for a while, that was pretty fun! I don’t know if you read Runners World but there was a story about Juli in the April Issue! Truly incredible!
    Thanks for coming out and being awesome. Can’t wait to be back next year (and hopefully meet you guys)! Thanks for this amazing post! I just want to keep reliving this day forever!

    • I do read Runner’s World! Well let me clarify that. I have 3 issues sitting on my nightstand that have gone unread which is why I didn’t read about her initially. (What is my problem?!?! Sweet Jesus. ) I did read about her experience this year on Runners World online written by her Guide in my super sleuth attempt to figure out her story. I’m sly like that. 🙂

      Congratulations! You are Wonder Woman!

  2. Thank you so much for including a picture of my banner! I wanted to share a mantra of BC’s with my fellow runners 🙂

    • And what a fitting mantra it is!!!! I’m so happy you saw this post! It was such a perfect day. The human spirit triumphed! Thanks for finding us Rachel, and for your banner. 🙂

  3. I was at the finish line all day on April 21st. The excitement and the good vibes were unbelievable. After last year I knew I had to be in Boston in 2014. I’m glad I was there. The only thing that could top being at the finish line in Boston would be at the starting line in Hopkinton, making the right on Hereford and the left on Boylston.

    • Such an amazing day. I loved being at Heartbreak Hill—the grit, the exhaustion, the RELIEF! Such a pivotal point. Agreed! I’ll be at that damn start. Even if I’m 70 rocking a gray ponytail. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Boston Bound | It's A Marathon AND A Sprint

Leave a Reply

