Because I’m Happy! The Friday Five!

happyWhat makes me happy? My Other Half. Negative splits. That Perfect Run. An ice cold beer at the end of a long bike ride. And so much more. There are so very many things that make me happy, it’s hard to pin it down to just FIVE.  But alas, it’s the Friday Five. Not the Friday Five Thousand.  So for the sake of our fabulous hosts, Courtney @ Eat, Pray, Run DC, Mar @ Mar On the Run, and Cynthia @ You Signed Up for What?!? I’ll keep it on track.

  1. The 3 Amigos. Leon James. Evil Beagle. And Drunk Otis. I couldn’t possibly write a ‘What makes me Happy’ List and leave these silly fool off. No matter what the theme. Look up “Happy” in the dictionary and I bet you’ll find their slobbery mugs. They are so special. They bring My Other Half and I such joy.
    Leon James.

    Leon James.


    Evil Beagle.

    Evil Beagle.


    Drunk Otis.

    Drunk Otis.

  2. My Bike.  Henrietta Pussycat. Why? Because that’s who she is. And because all bikes should have names. I love my whip. She fits me to a T.  And fights cancer. Pretty badass for a bike right?
    Henrietta Pussycat.

    Henrietta Pussycat.

  3. The Pan Mass Challenge.  This will be my 11th year riding in the PMC– and Tina’s 3rd! There is nothing that makes me happier than riding with several thousand of my closest friends in our untied fight against cancer. I can’t put it into words. Other than to say that the riding in the PMC, a 2 day, ~200 mile cycling odyssey across the state of Massachusetts, in the name of fighting cancer, has become part of the fabric of my life. It will always be. Nothing makes me happier than doing something I am so passionate about. Nothin’.
    The Finish!

    The Finish!


    Why I ride...

    Why I ride…

  4. Beer. Especially the first beer after riding in the PMC. That’s the one beer I look forward to most. It’s after riding 110 miles. And it is shared with friends. There is nothing I look forward to more, than toasting with my friends, on that Saturday afternoon in Bourne, Massachusetts. To the PMC. To Life. To Health. To Friendship. To Those For Whom We Ride. Cheers.
    Cheers!

    Cheers!

  5. Wellfleet. Each year after finishing the PMC, My Other Half and I spend some time in Wellfleet. Reflecting on the weekend. Unwinding. Decompressing. Relaxing. Drinking. Eating. And simply enjoying one another. It is by far, our favorite time of the year. We have fallen in love with Wellfeet. It’s so special to us. It’s such a beautiful little, artsy town on the Cape. No summer is complete without a stay.
    Wellfleet.

    Wellfleet.


    Sunset in Wellfleet.

    Sunset in Wellfleet.


    Happiness in Wellfleet.

    Happiness in Wellfleet.

 What makes you happy? Do you have dogs as RIDICULOUS as ours?

23 thoughts on “Because I’m Happy! The Friday Five!

  1. I love a good beagle…unfortunately mine is hanging out at the Rainbow Bridge…I can always get giggle remembering something silly he did though. Me and my husband still talk in the made up voice we gave him. Dogs are just awesome.

    • 😦 I’m so sorry. Beagles are such a silly breed. Ours is a riot. She is a former research beagle who has turned into quite the character. Dogs are most definitely, just awesome. Xo

  2. I have a ridiculous cat, does that count? And a ridiculous husband. And ridiculous horses.
    I was planning on finnnnalllly getting a bike this summer using my money that I’m earning as a marathon coach… until I got hurt (thus PMR appointments and PT), won my entry to blog fest (thus necessitating plane tickets), and then just took the car in (TODAY) and found out that it needs $700 in repairs done. FML. Next year?

    • Oh Poodle. I feel ya. Leon James got two new knees and Evil Beagle had Cancer. I like to refer to them as Granite Counter Tops and New Deck, respectively. #broke

      And yes, Cat, Alex and Horses (!!!) all count.

  3. No ridiculous pets. 3 ridiculous kids, though, each in their own, special snowflake way.
    My family makes me happy. Spa days and ladies’ lunches make me happy. A cold beer and a great pizza. An awesome run. A good book. Sleep. The PMC, of course. Solving a tricky issue at work. Closing a deal. That rare moment when all the laundry is actually done. Black and White Frappes, preferably from Brighams. Listening to good music. Hanging with you. xo

  4. Love the photos of your doggy-people. And love their names too. I’m doing a club run today that starts at a small craft beer brewery (craft beer is big here in Tasmania, Australia). I am not a beer drinker but decided yesterday that I would sample one because I haven’t tried it in years. Being 50 might mean that I’m now mature enough to enjoy it? Bit like not liking cooked tomatoes as a child but liking them now as an adult??? I’ll be thinking of you as I sample it 🙂

  5. Yes, dogs do bring so much joy and happiness into one’s life. We can’t imagine our lives without our little fur baby. I love Cape Cod. I’m constantly nagging Ben to buy a summer home there.

  6. Dammit! As I was saying, I LOVE the photo of Drunk Otis. It produced my best laugh of the day! My friends make fun of me because I give all my possessions names. We namers rule, and Henrietta Pussycat is one badass bike.

Leave a Reply

