Does Beer Do a Body Good?

beer happy

Source: Giphy

If you’ve been a follower of this blog for, Oh, I don’t know?  Say, five minutes? You would know that your pal Colby LOVES herself a nice, hoppy, delicious IPA. And lobster rolls. You’d also know that she loves lobster rolls. And tacos. And guacamole. And all things that go well with beer. But I she digresses. She also likes to run and cycle long distances. Run hard. Eat well. Be merry. Live loud. And always, always be kind. That’s her my jam. So when I was contacted by the creative folks at The Fix about the benefits of my beloved brew, I was intrigued. And it turned out STOKED! According to their super snazzy infographics, beer is better than you think. I love me a quality infographic. Bone and cardiovascular benefits? Vitamins and minerals?  Who knew! And here red wine gets all the press.
beeryonce

Beeryonće. (Source: Giphy)


Now (ahem…) let’s be honest, beer is not kale. Or quinoa. Or the Elixir of Optimal Health. Consume it moderately, Poodles.  That is, in moderation. Mod. Er. Ation. I know WHERE WAS THIS NEWS YESTERDAY?!?! I should have posted this before the Big Game. If you were one of the millions of Americans who drank some of the millions of cases of beer sold nationwide prior to yesterday’s Super Bowl, you’re all good. Maybe a little too good. If you’re like me half the population, you’re probably a tad hungover and a lil’ bloated.  You get a pass on yesterday’s food-n-brew bonanza. We all do. #IDontJudge
Beneficial Brew - Does a Little Beer Do a Body Good?
Source: Fix.com

So let’s review: heart healthy, raises good cholesterol, lowers bad cholesterol.  And, beer contains high levels of polyphenols- which have antioxidant, anti-carcinogenic, anti-inflammatory, estrogenic, and antiviral properties. Thumbs up! Check out how my beloved IPA holds up below! YAAAAASSSSSS. 

Beneficial Brew - Which Beer Contains the Most Healthy Silicon?
Source: Fix.com

Let’s define moderate, shall we? According to the CDC, moderate drinking is up to one drink per day for women and up to two drinks per day for men. Heavy drinking is 8 drinks or more per week for women and 15 drinks or more per week for men. And binge drinking is 4 or more drinks on a single occasion for women or 5 or more drinks on a single occasion for men.  Unless it’s Netflix and lobster rolls, go easy, Poodles. 🙂

Beneficial Brew: Demographics of Beer Drinking
Source: Fix.com

Are you a beer drinker? Or a wino? Have you ever run a beer mile? Favorite type of beer: GO! 

38 thoughts on “Does Beer Do a Body Good?

  1. Beer – yes! Wine – yes! No beer mile ever. We had a bit of a beer tasting last night during the game. I’m kinda digging sour beers lately, and the highlight of last night was some Cantillon kriek.

  2. We need more info-graphics like this…fabulous article and so timely, day after SB. I’ll admit I had such low interest in the game itself, I didn’t even reach for one until half-time. Last year, different story and we wont go there. Favorite…almost certainly a form of IPA or an ESB from Red Hook Brewery are among my favorites, and you’ll seem regularly featured on my site, usually if I’m writing on Friday Happy Hour. Sipping on one of their offerings right now while catching up on the reader and apparently it’s good for me! Cheers!

  3. I’m a big fan of IPAs and Lobsta rolls also! I’ve been told that wheat beers have some enzyme that is good for workout recovery. I don’t think I’ve been drinking enough of them!
    Great post. I may have to poach some of those info graphics.
    The drinkers I run with will love them.
    Andy

  4. Due to a game of quarters in college that I’d just as soon forget, I have never drunk? drank? droonk?…..oh eff it…..consumed brewskis again. Give me my grapes or agave any day. Or the mandatory Bailey’s in hand as I cross the finish of the Wine and Dine Half. JUST BECAUSE I CAN.

  5. Mmmmm beer. I’d rather have a beer than pretty much any other booze, but I’m trying to cut back these days. I had a couple for the Super Bowl, and they were just what the doctor ordered. I’d LOVE to do a beer mile someday, although I’m sure I’d puke all over the place.

  6. Love this! Beer is my absolute favorite and I’m happy to be a beer snob. I also like wine on occasion, but beer always wins. I haven’t done a beer mile but I did a 5K that had beer stops along the loop that you ran three times. That was the slowest, most fun 5K ever! My favorite beer is probably Heady Topper or Allagash Curieux (it’s aged in Jim Beam barrels – YUM!)

    • Ahhhhh. My beloved Heady Topper. So stinking DELICIOUS. In fact, I had one last night! Which sadly means I’m down to 4 cans. Oh the agony! I need a taste of that Allagash Curieux. That’s right up my alley, Sam!

  7. I love beer, but recently it has been making me pass out faster than you can say “another beer?” I prefer a lager, but my SO prefers an IPA… we recently found out that there is a happy-medium we both love – Yuengling’s IPL (can you tell I’m from PA?) it’s AWESOME!

    • I can! Nothin’ wrong with being loyal to your home brew! We have a bunch of fantastic breweries popping up around us with really fantastic offerings. HEAVEN! My tolerance ebbs and flows. Currently it’s flowin’! 🙂

  8. It’s chilly outside right now so I’m drinking red wine, but as soon as it warms up again I’ll be back to drinking beer. My city – St. Petersburg – has recently undergone an explosion of microbreweries, and Publix carries some of their beers, so I’ve been sampling them all in search of new favorites.

    And really, is there anything that beats a beer after a hard race? I THINK NOT.

    • I knew I liked you, Gale Force Badass! 😉 I am with you on drinking local. I am loving Connecticut’s explosion too. So many beers, so little time. The best beer is DEFINITELY the one after a hard run or ride. Cheers, Friend!

  9. Great post! 🙂 I’m an occasional beer drinker, and an occasional wine drinker… I prefer cider and mixed drinks, but I don’t discriminate! I’ve never run a beer mile because I’m seriously the world’s slowest drinker, so on top of being a slow runner, it would just be a disaster. My favorite beer sadly no longer exists 😥 but it was a chocolate coconut porter made by Wormtown Brewery. SO GOOD!

Leave a comment